Staying the Course

I woke from a lovely sleep this morning feeling perfectly cozy in my bed. Not too hot or cold. I didn’t have any cricks in my neck from sleeping the wrong way. I was perfectly rested and content to just lay there enjoying the morning, but the morning wasn’t content to wait for me. It had plans in store and so I had to emerge from the warmth of my blankets and get on with the day. Being so relaxed in mind, body and spirit, however, that didn’t even irk me.  I practically floated to the shower.  Mmmm, I love mornings like that.

Thursdays is Weight Watcher days. I haven’t written about it in awhile but that’s not because I haven’t been attending. It is because I haven’t felt that flame of motivation. I’ve been just coasting. I have spurts of enthusiasm where I swear I’m going to begin again, but it soon sputters out.

Summer is the most challenging season for me. The time of barbecues and ice cream treats. Potato chips and ice cold coolers. Since May, I’ve lost all of three pounds. I suppose I should be grateful that I didn’t gain that amount, but I’m disappointed in my lack of progress. I could be so much further if only I followed the plan, counted my points, and exercised. Instead I’m eating pretty much what I want, ignoring points values, and am so far from a regular exercise routine that if I tried to walk a mile I wouldn’t be able to move for a week afterward.

This last week, I vowed with my friend, Jen, to start tracking my eating habits again. That’s all I committed to. Even if I ate poorly (which is when I quit tracking) I was to continue to record my meals. And it did help. It kept me focused and there were times when I would’ve eaten something but decided against it because I didn’t want to see it in writing.

Then Wednesday came and I pigged out a little. I let myself get too hungry and lost all control. Aaaand, I did not write it down! Ah well, live and learn.

This week I’ll continue my commitment of writing down what I eat. I’ve already learned that when I get too hungry I don’t eat well.

I leave you now with some photos from the boat trip my parents took the kids on recently down the North Saskatchewan River. With the exception of the first one, R took the following photos.

Boat 008

My uncle and aunt are on the left, my parents on the right, and R and J in the front. Look at how happy the adults are!

R and J were too. I’ll show some photos and provide details about the excellent tour company on my private blog. They had such a blast with my parents on this little trip.

Boat 003

Interesting perspective!

Boat 006

Boat 020

 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Staying the Course

  1. Janet says:

    Now THAT is how to wake up in the morning!

    Great pics, BTW.

  2. Dawn says:

    I love waking up that way in the morning too. Way to go in losing another 3 pounds. I don’t seem to lose any, but then I am not going to any great efforts either. I remember them going on that trip.

  3. Amanda says:

    Ahh I wish I was on that water right now instead of sitting at my desk working!
    Congrats on losing 3 pounds. That’s great. Losing is def. better than gaining. I know exactly where you’re coming from though. Summertime is so hard to stay focused and healthy. There’s bbq’s and margaritas and all that summery food goodness! I got off track about 3 months ago. I was doing good. Exercising and eating good. I’d lost 7 pounds and then quit. I’m so bad about sticking to it! Good luck getting back on track.

  4. Melanie says:

    Well done Debbie on still losing the weight in spite of the summer foods. Try to fill up more on the salady things if the meat part has loads of calories.

    Love the watery pics. I miss having a river near here, so thanks for sharing them.

  5. Joy T. says:

    Losing or staying the same are all worth kudos in my books. Those pictures are gorgeous. That first one is priceless though! Your mom looks like she’s so much fun.

  6. Jen says:

    In spite of the slow progress, it IS progress!! You are looking great and it WILL come off!! I love being able to be accountable to you!! You are forgiving and accepting. Makes me feel great!! You are a great encourager!

  7. Pamela says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. Why sdoes eating (or controlling what we eat) have to be such a pain in the butt.

  8. Steffi says:

    Wonderful pics again!I wished I was there too.Nice nature!Congrats to lost your pounds!Really good!

  9. my4kids says:

    The point thing is probably a big reason I don’t do weight watchers….I hate keeping track of things to be honest..
    Great pictures from the boat!

Leave a Reply

