The Homeschool Frazzle Dazzle

Images of math, language arts, social studies, and science books have been swirling around in my head fervently this past week.  I’ve had a few very late nights and it seems planning for the upcoming school year is pretty much all I can think about.  To say I’ve been feeling frazzled is an understatement.  Which is weird because all summer I was confident about my plan.  THEN I began comparing myself to another mom who appeared to be so well organized.  Ridiculous.  Her and I are so different.  What works for her will definitely not work for me.

I’ve been bending Dawn‘s ear about my worries and as usual she’s been very helpful. I also woefully spilled my guts on the online homeschool group of which I’m a member, and got some great support.  Then, unrelated to my post, a mom put up the link to this video. It came at the exact right time. It’s cute and humorous, but also meaningful…to me. I actually teared up because it speaks to my concerns at the moment. And, yes, even after three years (one year full time) of homeschooling, I still experience moments of freaked-out worry that I’m ruining my kids!

 

 

Yes, curriculum is important but this helped me put it into some perspective.  For today anyway! 😆 “As long as we know how to read I know we’ll be alright.”

I’m ready for year four. No matter how it goes – bring it on!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Homeschool Frazzle Dazzle

  1. islephilosopher says:

    Wise are those whose – who have walked the path before you – and who now give you the light – to show the way 🙂

    Remain focused and confident throughout – as achievement is not only of the child – but of the tutor – who is their guide 🙂

  2. Janet says:

    I was just saying that to my hubby the other day.. “I don’t WANT to start teaching again! I am for SURE ruining their education!” I usually feel this way until a few weeks in….

  3. Dawn says:

    We all have our doubts on how things are going, how things will go and if we haven’t already messed up their lives. Fortunately, there are others around to bounce ideas off and to reassure us when we have our doubts. And the meetings and coffee afterwards is another great way to help alleviate our concerns.

  4. Heather says:

    Hello!!! Loved the video!! As I am sitting here filling out the kid’s ILP’s for the year….Not sure if I can survive year 7…..we’ll see! The “we’re not here we’re out the door…” so sounds like us. It’s the constant running and going that I think is getting to me. Most people are surprised how little “home” we really are with our homeschooling….

  5. Steffi says:

    You are so busy , Debbie!I wished I had such nice friends like you and Dawn!

  6. Joy T. says:

    I’m not even going to pretend I know anything about homeschooling but I bet your children are going to grow up telling people how great they’re homeschooling years were! It’s how it works. We as parents stew and fret over whether we’re messing up our kids….and they grow up to be just fine and thinking they had the best childhood ever. Ok maybe that’s just in MY bubble world but I like that world :o)

  7. Melanie says:

    You can do it Debbie! You build as best you can on the lessons you learned in the past year about what works best for you and your children. No one knows them as well as you do.

  8. robinellablog says:

    I have to hold my ears when my school friends start talking. la-la-la. Otherwise, I wouldn’t be worrrying right along with ya! Easy Squeezy!

  9. islephilosopher says:

    If you still wish to ‘bend Dawn’s ear’ – I’m sure I still retain some medical equipment which will work ideally 🙂

    Anything to oblige…

Leave a Reply

