Various (I couldn’t think of a better title!)

I’ve been busy planning for September which, I think, is one of the busiest times of the year for a parent whether or not your kids go to public school. We homeschool so no…I don’t have to purchase back to school supplies or an entire back to school wardrobe. (I do like to take advantage of the sales at this time, though!) But I still have to register them for their various activities AND pay for them. Which also makes this one of the most expensive times of year. In fact, I think “back to school” rivals Christmas when it comes to cost.

But back to the planning part. I’m trying to get my lesson plans sorted out this year. For the past three years I’ve just been flying by the seat of my pants – so to speak. That doesn’t mean I have NO plan. I’m the type of homeschooler that likes to purchase pre-made curriculum. Meaning I pretty much open the book and it says “Lesson 1…this is what you do“. Then I like to build from that curriculum if the fancy strikes me. We might veer off and read more books or play games relating to the lesson, but I have the basic lesson already made for me.

Now, I want a way to track my lessons so that at any given moment I know where we are and what we’re doing in relation to my plan for the year. So, I’m giving Homeschool Tracker a try. I’ve had the program for a few years but never used it.

Aside from obsessively inputting data in homeschool organizing software, I’ve been just enjoying the last of the summer with the kids. We’ve been bike riding and hanging around outside reading and watching the birds.

We also drained the pool this week. 😦 We know summer’s coming to an end when we have to do that. Before we did, though, Dawn and Sirdar came and pilfered some water for their pond. Dawn mentioned when she was over for a visit that they needed to purchase a load of water (which would cost about 120 bucks). I told her if she was able to wait a week she could have the pool water. They don’t have fish in their pond – they use it for watering the garden and such. AND we don’t highly chlorinate the water nor do we put a bunch of other chemicals in there. Annnnnyway, we were trying to figure out how to get the water over the hill and way to the other side of the subdivision to her house. After we I considered joining a bunch of hoses together to put between her house and mine 😉 it dawned on me that we have an old water tank. Duhh. 🙄 It only holds 300 gallons, though, so they had to make several trips and even then didn’t really fill the pond.

Nothing 007

We had fun playing with a waterproof camera during the summer, and we recently got the photos back. (Man, what a blast from the past THAT was! Taking film into get developed.)

both scuba

R and J with the scuba gear.

me2

A HIGHLY unflattering photo of me. Coulda been worse but I cropped out the cleavage shot. 🙂

R jumping in

An action shot of R jumping in the pool…and my foot. Cool sun rays, too.

J jumping in

An action shot of J jumping in the pool.

trees2

Huh? Can ya guess what this is? I’d do a contest but there’s no way that I can compete with the prize Joy recently gave away. 😉 So, I’ll just tell you…I’m looking up at the trees from underneath the water. Cool heh?

Yah, it was a good pool season this year. Now the pool is folded up and stored away for another year. Helloooo, autumn!

In other news, the city is coming to the country…

Light 001

See that beacon of light? That’s the new street light, literally, that my neighbours put up that shines into our yard from across the road. Let me say that they’re wonderful neighbours AND friends (they don’t read my blog so I feel safe that I’m not starting a feud here)…I just don’t like the light. Actually, it’s not that it’s so terrible.  In fact, we’ll be putting some lights up by our gate soon, but after seeing how bright this one is we’ll be doing low wattage and making them activate by motion sensor. 

One of the pleasures of living out in the country is to walk out of your house and enjoy the complete darkness. You get to look up at the blanket of stars which are not hindered by the light polution of the city.  That’s my opinion anyway.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Various (I couldn’t think of a better title!)

  1. Janet says:

    Sing it sister! I’m with you on the light issue. I hate it when there’s lights all over the place. Cool underwater shots!

  2. Dawn says:

    I knew what the mystery photo is. Wow, I didn’t know that was what he was doing with all that electricity he was putting at the end of his driveway.

    I wonder how many hoses it would have taken? You know it isn’t that far across the park;-).

    As for home schooling, I am flying by the seat of my pants again, he hee er, hmmmmm….at least they are learning something. Today, T was talking about starting a school tomorrow even though his dad will be home and it will be like another holiday day for us (which means work around the place, not playing).

  3. Melanie says:

    Looks like you had a lot of fun with the pool. Precious memories. Yes I agree about the light- bit bright! When we lived in Wales there was only 2 farms on the mountain. I saw the notherern lights for the first time- lots of red hues. I just froze for ages watching the magic. With more and more “neon pollen” lighting, it will become increasingly rare to be able to experience the dark. Here in a town, you barely notice it. Even if you turn out the lights in your home, the street lights stil allow you to see. It was one of the first things the children noticed when we moved here- it didn’t get properly dark. 😦

  4. Jen says:

    Good luck with the homeschool tracker!! I hope that it works!! Must be one of those things “you get out of it what you put into it” especially when it comes to entering schedules and info into the computer!
    I too, love those underwater shots!!

  5. islephilosopher says:

    Keep tracking on the ‘homeschool’ – someone has to do the analysis 😦

    Cool underwater photo’s – except the one of ‘bigfoot’ and wearing ‘nail varnish’ 😯

    Got to agree about the ‘light’ issue – anyone got a pair of cutters –

    Nature provides her own light for us to enjoy.

  6. robinellablog says:

    Let me know how you like Tracker. I had a simple version (the free one) and put all my info in and then got behind in our “seat of the pants” schooling and ditched it.

    I never thought of entering AFTER we did the work. That would help with accountability. You are so smart! 🙂

  7. my4kids says:

    I love underwater shots! Joshua took a disposable camera to camp this summer so I had pics to get developed also. It seemed weird.
    One of the things I like about where we live also is that we have no street lights. Makes for great star viewing at night.

  8. my4kids says:

    Oh and I also go for the curriculum that kind of tell you what to do also, but like you we can go off the lessons occasionally to do a little extra.

  9. my4kids says:

    I left you and award on my blog.

  10. Steffi says:

    I love your underwater pictures !Great shots!Your camera must be really good!Nice to see Sirdar again too!
    IIt sounds it will be a really busy month September for you!Good luck!

  11. Pamela says:

    I love the trees from under water. I would have said algae.

    I agree with your light assessment. But the city ate us up !

Leave a Reply

