You’ve Got Words

Tonight, I am watching “You’ve Got Mail” for about the twentieth time and as always it has inspired me to write. Write something. Write nothing. Just write. I absolutely love the quirkily charming prose in this film. Like, “I would give you a bouquet of sharpened pencils…”. Love it.

Words. Simple and benign yet so filled with potential. They can be harmful or healing. Dull or enlightening. When I read a piece of great writing I am overcome with the desire to do the same. But great writing. What is that? It’s different to everyone, of course. I enjoy the kind that comes across like it didn’t take any effort. But easy it is not. He he. For me anyway.

I’m often inspired but then…blank, blankety blank blank. Nothing comes out of me. At least not anything that will have you quaking in your boots. But that’s okay. I’m not a boot quaker. I’m more of a – head tilter. Or a – shoulder shrugger.

As the cooler weather tumbles in I’m drawn more to my computer and your  writing – those of you putting down your own words and publishing them for us all to read. In a nutshell, I guess I’ve become a “cold weather friend”. Get it? Tee hee. Incidentally, I’m more of a smirker than laugh-out-louder. 😀

As for my days lately, they are the same. School most mornings and then some kind of something in the afternoons.

The other day Jennifer’s family (sans Jennifer) came over and the kids did some dirt biking. We don’t have bikes but they brought theirs and invited us to give it a go. Jen’s husband was kind enough to teach us and we each had the opportunity to pilot a bike.

Dirt Biking 024-2

In the tv watching department, we’ve been watching an incredibly, fascinating, superbly, done series called “Prehistoric Earth“. It’s made by the BBC and has the same feel as “The Planet Earth Series” except they use amazing animatronics and sophisticated computer graphics to show creatures from prehistoric times. I’d definitely recommend it. Go here to read a review.

Today, our sechedule is wide open. School, cleaning, and baking is on the agenda so far, but our day rarely goes as planned. We’ll see what happens…

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You’ve Got Words

  1. Joy T. says:

    YOU’VE got to write more. I keep telling you that yet you refuse to listen. Maybe if I got Tom Hanks to tell you? Once again great post. I love the “cold weather friend”. I know a number of bloggers who come out more in the blogosphere once the weather turns colder. Great picture, I bet you had a ton of fun.

  2. Dawn says:

    I will be doing more in winter too and be a cold weather friend to my blogroll. I am more of a smirker than LOLer to. Good to see you here. Looks like your kids had fun. We saw you in the park loading or unloading the bikes.

  3. robinellablog says:

    Love You’ve Got Mail. One of my favorites too! :o)

  4. Amanda says:

    Good to see you blogging again but I know how the writers block is. It happens to me all the time! Sometimes you just can’t get inspired. I’ve been slacking on the blog because of work. I have a new job and I can’t get on the internet so it makes it harder to blog or read other blogs! Makes me miss my old job 🙂

  5. Steffi says:

    Nice post Debbie and I like the picture!

  6. islephilosopher says:

    As the stormy weather here on our wee isle becomes a daily event – I may try to blog more.

    However, as my wee daughter is now living with me – I think I shall have to undertake this – when she is sleeping 🙂

    You can see photo’s of my wee daughter on my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

