Happy Halloween, I guess

I’ve been feeling pretty bla about Halloween this year. Not that I’m ever real excited about it but I usually get into it a bit. We usually start thinking about costumes at the beginning of October, and then scarrrry crafts and such through-out the month. This year? I didn’t even get my kids costumes. How bad is that? So J had to come up with her own. She’s the one in the family who gets really excited about Halloween. She was counting down the days since Spring! And I have no idea why. I’ve never made a big deal about it.

So, she went down to our “tickle trunk” and came up with this number:

Halloween Halloween 003

She has on pretty much every piece of dress-up item we own. And what is she exactly? Apparently, she’s a ghost witch.

After this I started feeling a little guilty. She can barely walk in the thing! How’s she gonna trick or treat? So, when we were in a department store recently I asked if she wanted to take a look at the costumes and she replied very seriously, “Nooooo, I’m being a ghost witch, remember??”.

Then last night she was reading the “The Snow Queen” and announced that THAT was what she wanted to be for Halloween. All we needed to get was a white dress, a white cape, and a white hood. No problem!

untitled

So, naturally I said…too late, sista!

After we carved the pumpkins yesterday I got a bit more in the mood. But really? I can’t wait until tomorrow. And it’s not just because I’m getting a new dishwasher (whoo hoooo!) but because it means 364 days until next Halloween.

Halloween-1

Halloween-2

Halloween 044

Doesn’t this look like the pumpkin’s trying to suck his face in or something? I thought it looked cool anyway…and scarrrry 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Halloween, I guess

  1. Beckie says:

    I like the whiskers on that pumpkin!

    A face sucking jack-o-lantern – THAT is scary!

  2. Dawn says:

    I like the photos. No excitement here, except J remembered there would be chocolate at youth. Seems I have children in common with Janet and her obsessions.

  3. I’m the same way about Halloween and my kids live for it. On THE night, I started feeling guilty and thinking I could’ve done more, but I’ll get over it! ha

    I do like the face sucking pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

