Begging for Candy (I mean, Trick or Treating)

We always go to my parents for Halloween. They live in a smallish town in a largish crescent that’s well lit and busy with lots of other trick-or-treaters. It’s fun to see the other kids, and the neighbours go all out with decorations. What’s funny, though, is that when I was a kid no one had Halloween decorations like they do now. Okay sure, there were the pumpkins and people had stuff up in the windows but it was mostly homemade. They certainly didn’t have the huge lawn ornaments of today. It’s amazing. And all I think when I see it all is: Where do they store everything? It takes up so much space! I’m trying to get rid of crap stuff not accumulate more!

Halloween 059

Halloween 063

Halloween 067-2

But it’s nice, I guess, and it makes it more entertaining for us parents. 🙂

We always end the night with knocking on Grandma and Grandpa’s door…

Halloween 069 Halloween 072

And yes, J did go as the Ice Queen that I mentioned in the previous post, BUT she put the costume together herself. She used her old flower girl dress from a few years ago ( a little small, but passable), that white hat and crown was found at the bottom of the dress-up box and she had a white sweater. She also found white gloves in the house somewhere. We even had the white face paint. R used the same costume that he had from last year. This year’s investment? Zilch.

Halloween 083

And who’s obsessively counting and organizing the candy? Daddy.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Begging for Candy (I mean, Trick or Treating)

  1. Beckie says:

    The Ice Queen costume turned out well – she did a GREAT job with it! I like the price too!

    I have a candy sorting thing – I love to sort it. The first thing my youngest did was dump out her bucket and start sorting – it made me so proud.

  2. chrisb says:

    I’ve just been catching up on all your back posts that I haven’t managed to read. Glad you had a great Halloween it looks such fun and you got some great pictures.

  3. Two Cats are Better Than One says:

    I would agree that more people are getting into Halloween,like you,when i was young,there was not a hole lot to see.But now it’s almost as bright as X-mas.Which is great.Even at the esks game on Friday night,there was one esk that can out onto the field wearing a mask.

  4. Dawn says:

    J did a great job at putting together the costume. I find the product placement quite interesting in the last photo; all that candy with the container of Equal off to the side;-).

  5. Debbie says:

    Well, we needed a balance, Dawn. 😀

  6. Our yard was so Un-Halloween this year. Maybe next year.

    Actually, we decided to go the zoo for trick-or-treating and NOT pass out candy, so I didn’t want our yard to be enticing and then have kids egg us because we weren’t passing out candy. ;-O

  7. Amanda says:

    Ahh I’m so behind. I’ve missed like 5 of your posts. Looks like a fun Halloween. The Ice Princess costume is great. She did awesome putting it together. Very creative!

Leave a Reply

