Baking Therapy

First of all, I haven’t baked very much in my life. It’s an issue I’ve struggled with a bit because it seems to be a prerequisite for motherhood. Everyone expects that because a woman has given birth that she must know how to bake. I know this because every organization we join ask the moms to bake something.

So, I laughed when Joy said this in her post: “I have three children which means I have made exactly 14,897,209 batches of cookies in the last 20 years for lunches, brunches, school functions, midnight snacks and whatever else a cookie is needed for.”

I might be seeing my future!

So far, though, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m just not THAT mom – the one who steadily churns out delectable goodie after goodie from her kitchen.  I have other talents.  Yup.  Let’s seee…hmmm.  😕 Ah ha!  I’m a very good cuddler.

Eh hem.

Now, I could just keep on my merry way and continue to purchase the baked goods that I need in order to fullfill my duty as a mom but as it happens my children love to bake. And because I’m determined not to pass on my silly little phobias to them, I guess that means I’m baking.  Correction…we’re baking.

When I saw the recipe for Macadamia Nut Cookies on Joy’s blog I decided to give them a go because I love me some Macadamia cookies. I almost didn’t post the photo because they don’t look as nice as Joy’s (yes, I have issues – I’ve never denied it) but here they are…

Halloween 093

And they taste yummy.  According to my daughter, “they’re the tastiest cookies I’ve ever aten“. 

If you’d like the recipe,too, you can just head on over to Joy’s blog

Happy Baking! 

Or cuddling. 

Whatever.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Baking Therapy

  1. Janet says:

    I don’t bake very much anymore. Mostly because I’M the one who eats them, and that’s not a good thing. Sometimes I do, then teh kids say, “Mom! You made COOKIES? REALLY?” Like I’ve never done it before or something. Now I just bake at Superstore.

  2. Melanie says:

    Hia Debbie, yes I wouldn’t say that cooking is my forte. I got thrown out of home ec class. The teacher did it nicely- she had tears streaming down her face at the time from sampling what should’ve been my peppermint creams but I’d muddled the peppermint essence and glycerine so they took the roof of your mouth off. “I think your talents lie elsewhere” she gasped. I agree. It’s only close friends and family who get to sample my dubious culinary “delights”.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I am so impressed!! The cookies look devine!! And if your daughter made them, they must be fit for a princess!! Would love to try one!! But CAN”T, too much Halloween candy temted me lately!!He He

  4. Dawn says:

    Well, I knew I was suppose to go over for a visit this weekend, and even told Joy I was heading your way, then I up and forgot. They look really yummy and I am planning to try that recipe really soon.

  5. jensbranches says:

    Hey, I started up again! Missed blogging!!

  6. Joy T. says:

    Ah now see, I’m not a huge cuddler. Maybe that’s why I bake. Yum, the cookies look fantastic! The ultimate test are always the kids and it sounds like they approve.

  7. debsgr8r says:

    Aww…I don’t give myself overly too much props but it’s not so bad for me either. I make it a family affair. One daughter hold the end of the bag and snips off the fund raiser coupon for school, the other runs for a cookie sheet and the last one places the pre-made, store bought, already cut & decorated cookie dough portions onto the baking sheet. And of course I turn on the oven and set the timer. 15 minutes later? Delicious cookies that MY WHOLE FAMILY can say we baked ourselves. Heehee.

Leave a Reply

