Money, Money, Money, Monnnneyyyyyy…Money!

When writing this post the theme song of “The Apprentice” came to mind and that’s where my title came from. Reading this 12 hours later though it looks like I’m just shouting the word “Money!” over and over again. 😆

 

I’m sitting here typing on my laptop with the soothing sound of my new dishwasher cleaning the dishes in the background. We just got it on Friday and Adrian installed it on Saturday, making me ever grateful for having married a handy kind of guy that can do these things for us.

As I was reveling in my new appliance I realized that we’ve done a lot of splurging in that department this year.

First it was our new fridge (which cost way too much), then the new lawn mower (again, cost too much) and now the dishwasher (not cheap).

Dishwasher

We’re spending money like it’s goin’ outta style during a time when all I hear is doomsday prophesies about the economy. Depending on who you listen to in the news, that is. Some say Canada will be okay others say we’ll be in a depression.

And it’s not that we set out to buy a bunch of new stuff this year. It’s that everything is breaking down. I guess, we could live without these comfort appliances. Not the fridge, of course, but we didn’t have to get the fancy shmancy one.

Ah well. It’s done now. No use crying over spilled dollars, but we do have to be more careful from now on. I just hope the washing machine can hold on for a few more years.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Money, Money, Money, Monnnneyyyyyy…Money!

  1. Dawn says:

    I know what you mean. We got our new dishwasher this summer and Sirdar went and picked it out and installed it. He chose a more expensive fancier one than we have had over the last couple of times, but I tell you it is worth it to spend the bucks, at least for the dishwasher. The others we had didn’t clean the dishes. It would work for a short time then there would be stuff left on the dishes and particles in the glasses. It was a pain and probably easier to wash things by hand than go through that. This one cleans everything and leaves now yucky stuff. We love it. But no more new things for us this year…luckily this year is coming to an end and we can start a new year;-).

  2. chrisb says:

    What I find strange is how when one appliance breaks down suddenly other things follow suite! You should be OK for a while now.

  3. Beckie says:

    You have to do what you have to do. Our new dishwasher is scheduled to arrive on Saturday.

    I love that you are doing the NoBlo thing and posting so much.

  4. Heather says:

    It always seems like there is something to fix or get huh??? It always seems like when it rains….it pours….we just spent $700 on our TV and we were told the bulb on it might go out at anytime which would be another 250-400 dollars….hate that!!!!!

  5. Janet says:

    I feel a bit the same. We just bought our new dining set and the thought DEFINITELY crossed my mind that a possible recession is coming….sigh.

  6. Pamela says:

    I’ve always said that appliances die in threes.
    Last year it was our wash machine, our garage door opener, and our garbage disposal.

  7. We seem to be in the same boat. Our lawnmower and our leaf blower just died. Thankfully, grasscutting season is over but the leaves, MY GOD the leaves!

Leave a Reply

