A New Language

All of this week I’ve been getting thrust into a foreign country and find I can’t speak to the locals.  Try as I might to interpret what they’re saying, all I hear is gibberish.   As with all foreign languages, I suppose it would have been easier to learn as a child, but maybe it’s not too late for me.  I hear there are classes available…specifically for women, too. 

The foreign country?  Princess Auto.

The language?  Tool Talk.  Or Mechanical Speak. 

For those of you who don’t know what Princess Auto is, it’s basically a huge mecha store of automotive supplies.  For someone like me, it might as well BE a foreign country. 

Adrian has been sending me there on errands all this week.  I have to go because HE works all day and, apparently, I have all of the time in the world.  (I do have some time; I’m just being resentful).  He even gives me a list but I don’t understand a word on the thing.  So, I have to go up to a Pincess Auto worker and admit that I’m clueless and can he please please help me?  Then?  He starts asking me all sorts of questions that I can’t begin to understand.  What do I do?  I desperately phone Adrian. 

“Adrian, he says they don’t have gobbledy bla, but they do have bloobly bleh.  Is that okay?” 
 He responds with, “uh, do they have it in 3/8 ths?”
“Yup.”
“Okay, I’ll take two.”

It feels strange to carry on a conversation and have no idea what it is I said!  And to top it off, every time I call him, he adds things to the list! 

“Oh.  I also need you to pick up three moochy mlippers”
“Sigh.  Okay.”

I am totally sending him to buy me some bra and panties next week.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A New Language

  1. Two Cats are Better Than One says:

    Too funny!But true.

  2. Dawn says:

    That’s funny. I am not partial to buying things I know not of. I do like princess auto though for the the kitchen and farm stuff they have; and gadgets, I like gadgets.

  3. Melanie says:

    LOL Debbie, the shell pink but definately not the coral pink with 2″ lace not 1 7/8″ with matching bra but the straps mustn’t be too thin. Ha! Let him deal with that it sounds about fair to me.

    We’ve had appliances fail here too- dishwasher was 19 years old so deserved a good burial but these past couple of weeks hubby has had to re-build my computer, my sewing machine refused to even turn on in class last Friday, so has gone for a stern talking to by someone who can speak sewing machine, and finally the laptop refused to turn on too. I think bad luck runs in 3s so I’ve had my fill. Hopefully you have too.

  4. Beckie says:

    Have him stop by and pick up some extra long, extra absorbent pads with wings.

  5. Janet says:

    I can’t wait to hear what kind of bra he picks out…..probably a black, pointy, Madonna bra……:-)

  6. Carla says:

    I’d feel the exact same way in Princess Auto. Yikes.

  7. Pamela says:

    makes you wonder why its called Princess ??

  8. Joy T. says:

    I’ve never been in Princess Auto but I might have to check it out. Gregg has been a million times. Maybe I’ll really mess with his head and tell him I want to go with him next time..and actually get out of the vehicle and go in.

  9. Pingback: Stressed « A Step at a Time

  10. Robyn says:

    Princess Auto is like crack to Paul – the kids call it “daddy’s store” lol

Leave a Reply

