I Love This Gadget

I love my DVR (Digital Video Recorder). We’ve had it for about 5 years and I don’t think I could go back to recording tv shows with a tape. Losing them or accidentally recording over a show, or worse..recording over the end of a show is a pain in the butt that I don’t want to re-visit.

You see, we rarely watch anything in real time. Who has time to watch Oprah everyday at 5PM? And some of the episodes are bla. Besides, I can’t STAND commercials. I love that we can fast forward through every blasted one of them.

We don’t watch tv during the day, but I have to admit that the evenings are my time to sit back and view the boob tube. It’s also a great time to laundry.

TV 001

This is the groovy tv guide.

We live in the sticks so we don’t get cable and we’ve chosen not to have satelite. So, yes. Those are ALL of the channels we get. And still, we manage to find shows to watch. And this tv guide thing is just somehow downloaded to the DVR.  Like magic.  Magic to me since I don’t understand the technology of it!  However it happens it makes it so easy to record a show. You see how Morning News is selected? All I have to do to record that show is push ‘record’. No more manually entering start and stop times.  And if I want to record it every week I push ‘record’ twice.  Love it!

When you do record shows it saves them and you can view them whenever you want. Check it out…

So, that’s my favourite gadget. They’re a bit more expensive then a regular DVD player but so worth it.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Love This Gadget

  1. chrisb says:

    I’m hopeless with anything technical but that does look a like a neat DVR (I don’t have a clue how to use mine for recording- we had a new one when went digital and it seems complicated so I gave up!)

  2. Amanda says:

    Oh I LOVE my DVR. I probably couldn’t live without it. It’s like 50% full right now. I should probably get on top of catching up on my shows 🙂

  3. Dawn says:

    That looks like a really cool gadget. We don’t have anything for recording shows. Might be something to look into.

  4. Joy T. says:

    I’ve never heard of a DVR. Gregg probably has, heck the kids probably have. But I’m loving the idea of never missing another episode of Mad Men or Tudors again. Writing “DVR” down now to take a look into!!

  5. It is so great. The only downer is that your favorite one hour show is really only about 25 minutes, if that. It was always only 25 minutes of the hour but getting to skip through the commercials really brings that out.

    But, eh, who has time to watch a one hour show anyway!

Leave a Reply

