Chili Making Season

It’s the time of year where I make a lot of pots of chili. I made one to bring on the trip we’re on right now. I’ll make one for the bonfire party we have every year in November.

I’ve never posted a recipe before because I’m far from being a great cook but I’ll be brave and share the one for chili.

My chili recipe is a mish mash. I think I do it a bit different every year. I have a huge electric roaster that I make it in since I’m usually making chili for a large crowd.

A couple of pounds of lean hamburger.
A pound of hot Italian Sausage.

Fry the meat in a pan and drain the fat. I peel the sausage and scramble fry it. Then I transfer it to the roaster.

Then I saute whatever veggies I have on hand in the pan. (I like lots of veggies in my chili)

Onions and (lots of) garlic
Mushrooms
Peppers
Zucchini

Transfer that to the roaster.

Then I throw in various herbs and spices to the roaster. Like:

Italian Seasoning
Oregano
Chili Powder (of course)
Salt and Pepper
Worchestire Sauce
Hot Pepper Sauce (if ya want it spice)
Pepper Flakes
Cinnamon (yes, cinnamon!)
Sugar (a couple of teaspoons)

Stir that all up for a couple of minutes.

Then I add a cup or two (depending on how much your making) of beef broth.
Add, 2 cans of tomato paste.
Stir that around for a bit.
Add, 2 or 3 cans of diced tomatoes.

Let that simmer for about a 1/2 hour.

Then add the cans of kidney beans, beans in tomato sauce, and canned corn.

I like to make my chili the day before I need it. I let it simmer for several hours and then the next day it’s awesome.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chili Making Season

  1. Dawn says:

    Chili is yummy and great for those outdoor events in the winter; it warms the belly.

  2. chrisb says:

    Sounds good I might just give that a try-I like recipes that bloggers recommend.

  3. Janet says:

    Sounds delish…..

  4. jensbranches says:

    It is awesome!! I love Chili! I made a new recipe on halloween day for my family and my brother in law’s family. It was so hot!! I made a double batch, tried it then went back to the store for more ingredients to make a second double batch. It was soo hot!! Then the second batch turned out the same, extreemly hot! I figured out by a process of elimination that it was the chili powder that I was using. It was from Epicure. It was a hit for all the adults (with a little sour cream for me) and I made back up Mac and Cheese for the kids!
    Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  5. So glad to see someone else put cinnamon in their chili. I think it MAKES it!!

Leave a Reply

