Cabins

The place where we went last week was a Junior Forest Ranger training camp and, as Junior Forest Wardens, our club has free access. It’s an awesome camp equipped with beautiful log cabins.

JFW Hinton 08 085-1

JFW Hinton 08 081

The beds are actually pretty comfortable. Narrow but comfy. I don’t lovethat multiple families sleep in the same cabin. I snore. Badly. And it’s very embarassing. 😦 Luckily, everyone’s really nice about it. I do try to sleep lightly, but it gets more difficult on the third or fourth night.

JFW Hinton 08 082-1

The cabins have electricity, which is wonderful. It’s amazing how much difference that makes. They’re heated with wood burning stoves which make the cabins lovely and cozy. This cabin had a (kind of) kitchen. Not much counter space which is a bit of a pain but I’m grateful for the fridge. All it’s missing is plumbing. 🙂

We’re intending on heading back up here at Christmas. I’m actually looking forward to a secluded Christmas Day in the woods. I’m NOT looking forward to the cold outhouse, however. Brrr.

JFW Hinton 08 054-1

This newer cabin is one that we all drool over when we come. We’re hoping to have access to it this Christmas.  It only has room for one family and since Adrian is the coordinator of the club I’m hoping we get dibs.  hee hee

JFW Hinton 08 087-1

We got to see a cabin in the process of being built this time. Apparently they build it in this large open space then take it apart and put it back together in the permanent spot.

We just finished butchering and wrapping the deer Adrian got on the trip. My back is killing me! But it’s done. We’ve got a bunch of steaks and stew meat, and potential sausage. This year we’ll take it to the butcher shop to be made into sausage. Next year I might learn how to make it myself. We’ll see how motivated I am!

And I must say…you know you’ve got a good friend when she calls you at 10:00 pm reminding you to do your NaBloMo post. Thanks, Dawn! 😀

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cabins

  1. Melanie says:

    Sympathies Debbie. In Wales I’d help a neighbouring farm with a cow- labeling, and weighing etc. to make up boxes of mixed cuts that they would sell to friends around the county.

    Wow what a beautiful cabin! I wonder what that new one will be like inside.

  2. Beckie says:

    That cabin is gorgeous!

  3. Janet says:

    Looks like fun!

    I am thankful for not having to slaughter any deer today. 😉

  4. Dawn says:

    Great looking cabins. I thought I would be coming over here for 2 posts, but today’s isn’t up and it is late so I am not sure if it is a good idea to call. I hope you guys get the newer cabin at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

