Comfort – Thy Name is Stew

Stew is one of my favourite things to make in the crock pot. Its delicious smell greeting me as we walk in the door after a busy day is like heaven.

Making stew is pretty basic, of course. Meat, veggies, taters. But I found a recipe in Adrian’s Big Game Cook Book that I tried today that made a pretty darn good stew. You, of course, could use beef not deer.

Stew 002-1

1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup beer
2 envelopes (7/8 ounce each) onion gravy mix
1 tablespoon packed brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground thyme
2 to 3 lbs deer (or beef) stew meat
3 tablespoons oil
1 bay leaf (I used bouquet garni)
Carrots
Parsnips (I used potatoes instead since I can’t stand parsnips – taste like soap. Bleh)
Frozen peas or corn

In a bowl, mix water, beer, gravy mix, brown sugar, and thyme. Set aside. Cut meat (after having removed fat) into 1-inch pieces. Brown meat in oil over medium-high heat. Add beer mixture and bay leaf to meat. Reduce heat; cover. Simmer a bit so it thickens up nicely – then, at this point, I add it to my crock pot. [If you didn’t want to use the crock pot, simmer for 1-1/1/2 hours; then for 20 more minutes after adding vegetables]  Toss in the carrots and potatoes. Cook on high for 5-6 hours or low for 7-8.  I add the frozen veg. near the end. And because Adrian loves them, I make dumplings, too.

Maybe the beer made the difference this time, maybe it was the deer, or maybe I was just really in the mood for stew. I don’t know. But tonight…mmmm, it sure tasted gooooood.

I like my stew to be nice and thick – not soupy.  The above photo was taken at the end of the night, though, after a lot of the liquid was gone so it appears thicker than it was originally.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Comfort – Thy Name is Stew

  1. Dawn says:

    It looks awesome, and now I know what I will make for supper tomorrow night. And now I am going to edit my Tuesday post and send people to your recipe, since I don’t have one.

  2. Pingback: It’s Nothing « Colours of Dawn

  3. chrisb says:

    I love a good stew and yes it would have to be beef for me!

  4. Janet says:

    Sounds DE-LISH!!!!!!!!!! Sounds like an idea for an effigy party….:-)

  5. Pamela says:

    I haven’t made stew for ages
    speaking of parnips. We ate them as a side dish when I was a kid.
    Mom would keep serving them as leftovers until they were gone. I remember them being squished and fried. ha ha.

  6. Joy T. says:

    MMMmm we love stew in our home. Bringing out the crockpot in the cooler months is so comforting to me. I just love how easy it is and the smell. Oh man the smell! This looks great, thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

