Hopeful Beginning

We had a great school day and great school days are magical enough to warrant a blog post.

Writing is a subject of contention in our home. Especially with R. It saddens me because while other subject areas have improved since I decided to homeschool full time, his writing has declined. When he was in the part time school program he didn’t enjoy writing either but at least he did it. In this last year I’ve been lucky to get him to write the occasional paragraph and it’s never been done without considerable grumbling.

Sure, I could force my kids to write, but my desire isn’t just to have them churn out paper after paper; I want them to love writing. Or at least to have an appreciation for it. I’ve been just hoping and having faith that their desire for writing will grow.

Today, after we did a little brainstorm exercise for descriptive phrases I asked R and J to turn these phrases into sentences. I was expecting much complaining, but it didn’t come. And R…well he had fun! He even came up with extra sentences on his own. But again…he enjoyed himself. I’m simply thrilled.

Of course, I know it’s just a beginning. It’s a long term journey, but this day will carry me through future days of whining that I’m sure will take their turn again.

School 002-1

I guess I like to confuse my children by having the wrong date written on the board!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hopeful Beginning

  1. Two Cats Are Better Than One says:

    dad did a great job on the white board !

  2. Dawn says:

    It is always a big pick me up when the kids accomplish a lot and don’t complain. It is the little (and some big) things like that that keep a person trudging through the mire of some other days we have.

  3. I’m so happy that you found a fun way for him to get his writing bug hopping. Here’s to a lot more happy writing days!

  4. Wonderful news and btw, I rarely know what day it is. As long as my boys know what the months, days and years are, it doesn’t matter which ones they are. *snicker*

Leave a Reply

