Skyping

Ahhh, the wonders of technology. We just got Skype set up so that we could talk to Adrian’s sister in England. I know it’s old hat for some people but it was so exciting for us!

Skype 002

Adrian’s sister, Elsa, and his nephew on Skype.  This is the first time we’ve seen them in five years. 

You can see Adrian and J in the bottom left corner of the screen.

 

Skype 003

And it’s so cool with the wireless Internet! Adrian walked all around the acreage with the laptop showing her the place.  They’ve never been to our house. Her and her husband came to Canada back in 1991. That was pre-marriage, pre-house, and, of course, pre-kids time.

We’re looking forward to many more Skype sessions in the future.  It’ll be great when Adrian’s mum next visits Elsa, for instance, so that we can Skype with her as well.  And I think it’s a wonderful way for the cousins to get to know each other.  It’s just so expensive to travel back and forth.  And because the world is coming to an end, economically speaking, we probably won’t be making the visit anytime soon.  😦 So, this can be the next best thing.

We live in the age of technology where we tend to take these things in stride.  But, it is SO cool that we can talk with AND see in real time family that lives thousands and thousands, maybe even hundreds 😉 of miles away ACROSS an ocean.

And in other important news: I realize that I missed a NaBloPoMo day which is fine. I’ll keep going and try to finish off the month anyway. 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Skyping

  1. chrisb says:

    Skype is great I love it, although it’s not always easy to catch my daughter in the US because of the 8hr time difference.

  2. Two Cats Are Better Than One says:

    An’t technology great! Makes the world smaller.

  3. Pamela says:

    what a wonderful way to communicate.
    When the very first web cams became available we bought one thinking we would communicate with our daughter who was on an air force base on the east coast. It never worked well — and we think it was because they had horrible service where they were.

    At that time you had to log into a web site and find your other person logged in — and you could get on your web cam with anyone on there.

    In any event — someone rang into my computer and I answered it and it was a new version of an obscene phone call. It was a certain part of a naked man. Live.

    I screamed.

  4. Debbie says:

    That’s terrible, Pamela!! I totally would have screamed too. Man, there are sickos out there.

  5. Dawn says:

    That is so cool you can do that. How wonderful to be able to take the laptop around the place for Adrian to show his sister and family.

  6. Melanie says:

    hia Debbie that is wonderful. We have it here. How lovely that Adrian could show is family his kingdom.

  7. I remember, oh 10 years ago, my sister and I downloaded a free program (can’t think of name) and were able to type real time back and forth. I could see what she was typing as she typed which was interesting because I was already answering before she was done and she to me. I think it was before chat.

    I’m so techno challenged that this stuff amazes me too!

Leave a Reply

