Christmas Came Early To Our House

My mother-in-law, as most of you know, lives in England.  This past weekend she told me that she sent us a few different packages by mail and that they should arriving anytime. A couple would be for the kids and one for me (a sweater she knitted). Adrian, apparently, is chop liver.  Ha! 

I checked the mail today and low and behold there was a package each for the kids – addressed to them specifically.  Knowing how much they love getting packages from “Grandma-Over-The-Ocean”, I immediately handed them over in the van.  Naturally, J tore right into hers before we even got home but R noticed this writing on his package:

Games 006

OOPS!

You see, Mary already sent me a cheque requesting that I buy their Christmas presents (just like she did last year). So much money is wasted on shipping that we’ve been doing it this way the last few years. So, you can understand why I wouldn’t have thought that these packages were for Christmas. Right???

Well, at any rate you can’t unopen a opened package. So, we’ll phone Grandma tomorrow and tell her it’s all my fault but J opened her Christmas package early. And is enjoying it immensely. I even told R that he could open his if he wanted (might as well go all the way right?) but he’s chosen to wait until Christmas which I think is great.  I wouldn’t have waited at his age.

Games 005

Among the goodies in J’s package was a sweater that Mary knitted – J is wearing it above – and some paper masks. They are of Knights and Princesses. This is an awesome coincidence because we’re doing Story of the World – The Middle Ages right now. Mary had brought similar masks when she was here in May, and J loved them. They were animal ones then.  You might remember my posting about her and Dawn’s kids playing with them.

Games 007

J wasted no time colouring one of the masks today.

So…eh hem.   Merry Christmas everyone!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Christmas Came Early To Our House

  1. Dawn says:

    What fun to get parcels in the mail. I remember how much J liked the other masks and our girls had fun with them too with her. That is such a good theme to get her with what you are reading. Good for R for waiting, even if it isn’t all the way to Christmas, it shows good delayed gratification qualities.

  2. Debbie says:

    He he he. Delayed gratification…a skill I’M still trying to learn!

  3. wissink6 says:

    I really like those masks , how fun. I don’t know if I would be able to wait like R .

  4. Janet says:

    Oops. It was an honest mistake. 🙂

  5. Two Cats Are Better Than One says:

    your young boy is growing up.

  6. Melanie says:

    I had to laugh that’s the sort of thing that happens in this house. Today’s post though was critters in a tube so no mistaking that one.

  7. Joy T. says:

    I’m almost 45 years old and if a parcel came for me that said “For Christmas Day”? I would laugh and then have it open in 2.5 seconds. And if that makes me childish then I don’t wanna be grown up :o) The sweater looks beautiful, Grandma does good work!

  8. Pamela says:

    she knitted that? wow. I wish she was my grandma. (:

  9. chrisb says:

    Don’t tell beccy she might want me to get my needles out of retirement! LOL

Leave a Reply

