I’m Learnin’ Stuff

One of the things I love about homeschooling is that I learn so much. I get to actually sound smart when topics like the ancient Roman empire casually come up in conversations. Oh yeah. I hang around smawt people.

The annoying thing, however, about hanging around smart-alecy types is that when I proudly ask, “Did you know that the term ‘Anglo-Saxon’ actually comes from two separate tribes of people called the Angles and the Saxons and that they came and defeated the Celts in Britain and then settled in what is now known as England?”, that they respond with an obvious-of course sounding, “Yeahhh.” All I can say then is, “Oh. Ok. Well I didn’t.”

But at least I am getting smarter and – I hope – my kids are, too.

Yesterday we tried to make our own quill pens. They KIND of worked.

Picnik collage

Concentrated grape juice was our ink and a feather was our pen. J had fun with it while R couldn’t stand the sound of the feather quill scritching and scratching across the paper.

And then we I had fun learning a bit of calligraphy. We used a book called, strangely enough, Calligraphy, and it gave the tip of taping two sharp pencils together. It WAS fun. (it’s the little things that amuse me) Print the letters, join together the open lines, colour in, and voila. I feel like an arteest.

Don’t roll your own eyes, now. 🙂

Homeschool 006-1

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m Learnin’ Stuff

  1. Two Cats Are Better Than One says:

    You are never to old to keep learning,and cool!

  2. chrisb says:

    I think all that stuff is fun. Have you tried putting a white flower in a glass of coloured water and watching it change colour through osmosis. You’ve probably done this in science but if not I found this http://littlekids.nationalgeographic.com/littlekids/science-experiments/02-rainbow-flowers.html

  3. Janet says:

    Beautiful. Love the calligraphy. And if it makes you feel any better, I didn’t know all that stuff about Anglo-Saxons either.

  4. Dawn says:

    Just like all things in life, it depends on what you are studying, reading, interested in whether you know some tidbits of this or that. Having studied the history of England with my kids, I knew that, however, only my kids who have read The Story of the World would know that now as they all probably forgot when we studied it. The calligraphy looks good and that is a good idea with the two pencils.

  5. Pamela says:

    Maybe some of us should join your school — just to keep our minds active.

  6. Melanie says:

    I think life should be all about learning. It’s far more fun that way.

  7. Are you using Story of the World? We do (sometimes*snicker*)

    We found a large tail feather at the beach and I had India ink. It worked beautifully because the feather was so stiff and I was able to cut it very sharp.

    I love the double pencil idea. We’ll have to try it.

  8. Steffi says:

    Great story! I come from Saxonia…Great pics and I love your idea with the double penicl!

Leave a Reply

