First Week Back to WW

I’m coming to the end of my first week back on the WW program.  Yeah, I know I haven’t spoken about it for awhile.  It’s because I wasn’t doing well and I only write about something when I’m doing well.  Kidding!  Nah.  It’s just that…what was I supposed to say, right?  More whining about how I fell off the program? More sadness about how I was gaining back the weight that I’d worked so hard to lose?  It’s frustrating to fail, and I just didn’t want to face that that was what I was doing.  I haven’t taken down that 23 lbs down thingy in my sidebar because by doing so it’s like putting another nail in the coffin.

You know, I hesitated about talking about my weight loss efforts on here in the first place?  I didn’t want to be yet another person complaining about her weight.  I know how ordinary it is.  How common.  But it IS real.  I despise having this issue.  I so wish that I had my weight under control.  I look at former classmates on Facebook in their bikinis while they’re on holiday in tropical paradises and instead of being happy for them I feel envy.  How sad is that??  I AM happy for them – I just wish I looked that good…or that happy.  Oh jeez.  I’m such a contradiction because I AM happy, but, I guess, not in every area of my life.  I’ve obviously got some issues because I’m 60 lbs over weight.  That’s the lovely thing with having a weight problem – carrying your issues around where everyone can see them.  🙄

I loved Oprah’s monologue confession that she did this week on her show (Monday the 5th).  She spoke about gaining her weight back and how hard it was for her to admit and face it.  At one point she said, “I can’t believe I’m STILL talking about my weight!!!”.  I can SO relate to that!  That’s how I feel everytime I’m tempted to post something about it on here.  And then there’s that commercial for some cereal or other where it shows a woman walking around with a bathroom scale tied to her ankle and that song “You’re Always on my Mind” playing in the background.  That’s me to a tee.

So my week…it went good AND bad.  

The first day, Monday, went terribly.  I’d been gearing myself up the whole previous week and was excited to start eating healthy again, but then woke up feeling sick with a weird cold that made me tired and unmotivated.  So frustrating because I was looking forward to it being a week of new beginnings for other things, too, like homschooling, early mornings, and just a general positive good start to the year.  But it was the complete opposite. 

The illness, unfortunately, didn’t take my appetite so while I tried to stick to the plan during the day I continued with my naughty ways and ate too much that Monday evening.  And the lethargic feeling didn’t leave me until Thursday.  It was so frustrating to WANT to do something (like exercise) but not be able to.  I did eat better, though, during the middle of the week until Friday when the kids and I spent the day at the ski hill.  I brought our own food but drank a large hot chocolate before I even remembered that it was expensive in points (fancy way of counting cals, fat, and fibre).  That evening I was tired and ended up eating perogies (too many) at supper.  Today went okay, though.  I baked a batch of cookies at one point but manged to keep myself under control.  Yippee!  Big obstacle that, by the way.  How to bake and not eat myself into oblivion.

So, I’m not as happy with my first week back as I’d like to be but not totally dissapointed either.  It’s the first (and hundredth) week of a very long journey.  You’ve likely got many posts to look forward to on this subject…lucky you!  I do, however, promise to try and keep the whining to a minumum.  🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First Week Back to WW

  1. wissink6 says:

    Oh Girl I so hear you. It’s hard because it is an everyday part of us and an issue that plays a part in every aspect of our lives.I for one will never tire of hearing the struggle. I too look at my high school friends in their teeny bikinis on some tropical beach and feel the envy .Hope your second week goes well.

  2. Dawn says:

    I hear you too, that whining was travelling over to our place, and here I thought it was Lucy Lu 😉 . Just kidding. I know exactly what you mean with the weight and I noticed myself yesterday making one fat comment after another about myself and thought I need to stop doing that. There is that other commercial too for the cereal where the mom is in a red robe bending down to do something with the fire place and the little girl came down the stair and yells “SANTA!!” Yes, that is an honest mistake my kids could make, but I have a green robe, so it might be more like… “Scrooge!!”.

  3. Janet says:

    It is ALWAYS on my mind too! I wish we didn’t feel so tortured about it! I hate that every time I enjoy something, the first thought on my mind is….how many calories is this, and how much will I weigh tomorrow. ARG.

  4. Sirdar says:

    Losing weight is not easy. I know I’ve mentioned that at one point in my life I lost 60 pounds in 8 months. I need to do that again…ok not 60 pounds but at least 35. I think the hard part is the mind game with yourself. It is most difficult in the beginning, but once you have a few successes by losing some weight, you won’t feel as hungry and you make that conscious effort in your mind whenever you are tempted. The thing is moderation, not deprivation. Instead of saying “I won’t eat this even though I love it” say “I will only have a bit” and then only have a bit. You get the craving over with and you don’t “need” to have more. Then it is mind over matter. That is how I did it before and am going to do it again.

  5. Carla says:

    One bad week is just that…one bad week. The great thing is each day we can start new. I’m sure it will be a great year for you. Changes aren’t easy, especially while baking yummy cookies. I don’t know how you do that part.

  6. chrisb says:

    I admire you for trying, dieting is the most difficult thing to do. I wish I could be motivated enough to actually attempt it, so I wish you every success.

  7. jensbranches says:

    I too, can relate to your struggles. I am so glad you share because it helps me to know that I am not alone, it is hard too when you have a cold. I am very proud of you. You are still down from this time last year, and this time next year? It looks good! Thanks for helping me to be motivated! It is great to have a friend walk with you on all life’s paths.

  8. Mamma Schmoo says:

    I hear you on the weight issue. I am struggling immensely right now with being pregnant and wanting to lose weight but knowing that this is not the time to worry about it….but it is always there in the back of my mind. Once this baby is born I too, will be back on the WW wagon. I did so well at the beginning of 2008 right up until our anniversary trip…ugg…just thinking about makes me want a cinnamon bun.

    Have a great second week!!!

  9. Pamela says:

    if God has wanted us all to be skinny, He never would have created chocolate and butter.

    (:

Leave a Reply

