Warm Winter Days

The kids had a blast during another ski day this month. There’s was more snow and that meant more people came which was great. I barely saw R and J all day.  My title is warm winter days but actually the ski day wasn’t all that warm, but – hey – I needed a title.

It’s such a good financial deal going skiing with the homeschool group. I wish I could afford to go on our own more often. It’s just so expensive when you put rentals into the equation. Ah well. At least they have the opportunity to go when they do. 🙂

Winter 08 006

J trying on a pair of her friend’s goggles.

Winter 08 037

R with a couple of his buddies.

Winter 08 072-1

The weather has been glorious here the last couple of days so the kids have been enjoying playing outside. Here they are with some friends on a “mountain”  – or so they called it.

In other news, we’ve having some good school days. What I mean by that is a small amount of complaining and a big amount of learning coupled with a large amount of fun. (corny, I know!)

Annnnyway, I love it when we actually learn stuff. In their Story of the World social studies book, we’ve actually been learning a little about Islam. I knew pretty much nil so it’s been very interesting.

Winter 08 052-1

Re-enacting a story about Sinbad with spoon puppets.

Last night we took a canoe safety course with the Junior Forest Wardens at a Swimming Pool. It was soooo much fun and all of the children really enjoyed it. There were about 30 of us there (parents and kids) divided into two groups. We learned some basic paddle strokes and what to do when you capsize. I wish wish wish that I’d remembered my camera! Another parent did take some photos but she doesn’t have a computer so I’ll have to wait for her to get some prints to me.

Today is meant to be +10C!! I’m looking forward to the day.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Warm Winter Days

  1. Janet says:

    I LOVE canoeing! And this weather!!! beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Dawn says:

    It is nice out now but not for long 😦 . Skiing was fun despite the cold and it is a good deal. I remember playing on those ‘mountains’ when I was a kid; it was so much fun.

    I love good school days too and I wish we had more of them.

  3. Carla says:

    So much fun skiing with a big group. Sounds like it was a good experience.

  4. Melanie says:

    It certainly looks like they had a lot of fun.

  5. Sirdar says:

    It wasn’t that cold 🙂

  6. islephilosopher says:

    Wow, the photo’s are amazing – and just look at all that snow and blue sky 🙂

    Over here we have rain & sleet 😥 and a bitterly cold wind 😥

Leave a Reply

