Somethin’s Happening Herrre

Baking

 

There’s a weird phenomenon going on in my household as of late. And it’s called…baking. By me, no less. And weirder yet? I WANT to do it! Anyone who knows me KNOWS I don’t like to bake. I try to avoid it. Why? Because I’ve never been very good it. I’ve been known to get stressed over baking a batch of cookies. I’d come to terms with the fact that I’m just not THAT kind of “Betty Crocker” mother.

I’ve never understood the people who spend a day baking…just because they enjoy it. If I have to full-fill a mommy duty imposed on me by some group that I’ve joined with my kids I make what I have to make. And that’s it! No extras. If three dozen squares are required it’s three dozen that I deliver. And sometimes I – gasp – just buy them.

But it seems like that’s changing. For the last week or so, I’ve had this yearning to spend time in my kitchen mixing stuff up and putting it in the oven. I’ve actually said the words, “I feel like baking something.” Crazy!

But this new found joy of baking comes at a most inopportune time. I’m back on WW, and trying my best to be healthy and make better food choices. Which doesn’t seem to make sense while baking cookies. So, now I’m on the search for low-point recipes. Yesterday, I made small chocolate chip cookies that are a point each and cranberry muffins for two points each. I also made some regular cookies for the kids. Today I’m making low point raspberry muffins. And last week, I made some banana muffins – again low-point. Not the fanciest of recipes, I know, but for me these are a considerable step up.

In WW news, I’m doing pretty well. I feel motivated and in control of my eating. This week I was down 3 pounds. I was very happy to see that number but I’m trying to keep it in perspective realizing that IS just a number. I don’t want to be too focused on it. I’m feeling good and that’s the important part.

The kids and I watched the Presidential Inauguration this morning. I found it very moving and I’m not even American. What an exciting time. I hope that President Obama can full fill everyone’s hopes.

That’s all I’ve got for now. I’ve off to eat curry for supper. Yumm. 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Somethin’s Happening Herrre

  1. Janet says:

    I need to get a book to get me back on track. Or do something. Because, although I’m not baking, I’m EATING. 😦

  2. jensbranches says:

    I’m hoping that you will share with me some of your new found lower point recipes!! I’m happy that you are having fun baking!! Nothing is better than a house that smells of baking!!

  3. Pamela says:

    You feel like baking, I feel like eating. sounds like a match made in betty crocker heaven.
    But… I’m trying to cut back (on eating. I’ve already cut back on baking)

  4. Sirdar says:

    I’m sure the family is just thrilled that you have taken up your new hobby. I’m sure you could share some down the road one day 🙂

  5. Dawn says:

    Well, blow me over. Maybe it’s because your next door neighbour is away and won’t be sending stuff over. Maybe I am rubbing off on you too 😉 . I baked today to, and ate way too many of the things I made. Recipe to follow…Tuesday of course.

  6. Melanie says:

    Congratulations Debbie on losing those 3 lbs.
    I’m glad you are having fun in the kitchen. I’m not a great baker but I have a few recipes I’m not too bad at. Maybe I should try a few more when the baking feeling comes on?

  7. islephilosopher says:

    Good Luck with the baking – perhaps one day I may achieve same.

    Have to agree of President Obama – deeply moving and all credit to the enthusiasm of the many who braved the cold to attend.

  8. Carla says:

    Being on WW is definitely the time to start baking. You’ll know exactly what’s going into your food and you’ll be less likely to let a bunch a bad stuff slip in. There are some great, tasty, low fat, low sugar recipes out there.

Leave a Reply

