Back in the saddle (so to speak) againnnn

I did it. I wasn’t going to. I nearly talked myself out of it, but in the end…I did it! After eleven years I went skiing. I gotta tell you, I was more than a little apprehensive. I mean it wasn’t like I was an expert skier eleven years ago, and the last time I went I wiped out so badly that I damaged my knee. And after being taken down the hill in that ski patrol sled and then having to undergo surgery I hadn’t intended on ever skiing again, frankly. But then my kids started skiing this year, and I just knew that they’d be thrilled if I could go with them.

So, I tackled my fear. And I’m so happy I did. I had fun! My legs were extremely sore and tired after…eh hem…only one run, but the weather was gorgeous and my kids were happy which made the pain so worth it. It does show how much I need need need to get into shape, though. My energy level was up, as was my desire, but my legs were seriously hurtin’ so I couldn’t ski as much as I wanted to.

I didn’t bring my camera because I knew I wouldn’t want to lug the thing around while trying to ski. I really wouldn’t mind getting myself a nice little point and shoot for situations like that. I could just tuck it into my pocket. Anyway, I did have my cell phone, and although they’re grainy I took a few shots.

J going down hill-1

This is me skiing AND taking a picture at the same time! There’s J on the right in black and pink. That’s our teacher (I took a lesson with the kids) in the bright green pants in front. Those, in between, are my classmates. And no. I wasn’t too proud to be the oldest person in the class. 🙂

Janice and Me

Here I am on the chair lift with a mom in our homeschool group. She’s the one who organizes the ski trips. While the kids were off with their friends she kindly accompanied me on a couple of runs. I seriously cramped her style (her being a good skier), but I appreciated her company.

I have other ones on my private blog. Check ’em out here.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back in the saddle (so to speak) againnnn

  1. Dawn says:

    I am so glad you went skiing this time. Pretty soon you will be going with J and I all the time while your kids are doing their own thing 😉 as kids are want to do. I tell you, biking all summer will sure build those leg muscles and get you in shape.

  2. islephilosopher says:

    ‘CONGRATULATIONS’ – your achievement is to be commended, especially after such a painful experience.

    The photo’s are excellent – and | always use my cameraphone now.

  3. jensbranches says:

    so proud of you!! Can’t wait to go again and we can chum!!

Leave a Reply

