A Dedication

I haven’t been writing here. Or reading. Um. There. On other people’s blogs. As a result, I have barely any readers. And weirdly enough, I’m okay with it. There was a time in my blogging career when that’s what I wanted. Readers! I would comment on as many blogs as I could and I’d join Fun Mondays – all in the name of attracting people to my blog. There I said it. Fun Mondays weren’t always fun, okay? It was a means to an end for me. I’d see the number of comments that other bloggers would get and it’d make me all the more determined. Except, at the heart of it, I wasn’t really that determined because I would often forget Fun Monday and get tired of reading so many blogs. So, I became content with the number of readers I had and then even began to build relationships, of a sort. I got to know my neighbour, Sirdar. Funny that it takes the internet to do that, but it did. Then his wife, Dawn, started blogging. Now they’re both dear friends to us. Dawn and I met Joy and Emma. That was great fun, and we still meet from time to time. We have breakfasts that turn into lunches. It hasn’t turned into supper yet but I don’t doubt that it will one day. Now it’s grown to include other bloggers. In fact, I was just thinking the other day that we were over-due for another breakfast/lunch/supper get-together. But I digress…

One of the sad side effects (for me) of focusing on getting more readers is that I no longer write for myself. When I first started, this was more of a daily journal thing. Dull, perhaps, but it was mine. Then I started to think about how dull it might be for someone else to read; so, then I only wanted to write when something exciting happened. Or funny. People seem to like funny. And I’m not real funny! Oh, I can BE funny. We all can, frankly. But I’m not one of those who’s constantly funny. So, I’d start writing about something that happened and then stall out because I didn’t think I was giving it justice. No one would find it entertaining.

I know I’m being neurotic, by the way.  But I’m learning to accept it and now it’s part of my charm. 🙂

A scary thought just entered my mind. I think I’ve written this post before. I was just re-reading the above paragraphs and it seems very familiar. Like I’ve already whined written about it. Hmm. Ah well. The beauty of not having many readers is that there’s no one to annoy with my ways. I feel free!! LOL (No, I’m not going crazy.)

Back to when I first started blogging…

My very first motivation was for Mary – Adrian’s mum. And his sister, Elsa. They live in England and we’re here in Canada. I thought it’d be a great way for them to see what we’re up to here. Especially since I’m terrible at mailing stuff. I usually feel sufficiently guilty by Christmas and send Mary an album of photos but the rest of the year…nothin’. Yes, you can call be a bad DIL now. I just never get around to mailing stuff. So, I thought blogging was a perfect solution. BUT. Elsa has a busy life and doesn’t seem to get onto the blog. And Mary doesn’t have a computer. LOL A minor technicality. She does have friends with computers, though, but she “didn’t want to trouble them”. And I’m like, “Mary, they won’t be troubled. They’re your friends!”. And she’s like, “Yes, dear. But I just don’t feel right about having them turn it on and all of that just for me.” And then I’m like, “It’s not a huge effort to turn it on. They probably have it on all of the time.” And she’s like, “Well, maybe.” And I’m like, “Okay, good.” – knowing full well that she’ll never ask them. 🙂

But in recent months one of her said friends has begun reading my blog all on her own. Okay. I sent her the link. But I didn’t coerce her into reading or anything. And when she has Mary over for tea she pulls her over to the computer and shows her the blog. Isn’t that great!? Approx. 2 years after I start blogging it actually achieves what I first set out to do. Right at a time when I sorta feel like stopping. How’s that for irony? But I won’t stop. I’ll keep writing. For Lin – Mary’s friend and my hero (okay, hero is going a bit far, but I’ve been trying all of this time to get Mary to look at the blog and now she does occasionally). HI LIN!!! I dedicate my blog to you because if you weren’t reading it I probably wouldn’t be writing it. 🙂

And with Lin and Mary in mind I’ll post some photos. There’s gonna be a few since I haven’t posted in awhile.

Winter 08 002

This is some of R’s Lego. He loves Lego City. He’s got the Police Department, Fire Station, and some Coast Guard stuff here. And that’s his torn wall paper in the back. I’ve been meaning to redecorate his room since he was five.

Winter 08 006

Here’s just a cute photo of J when were skiing. I think I’ve posted it before. But like I said, it’s cute.

Winter 08 011-2

Here’s a cute photo of my friend and fellow blogger, Dawn. She’s cute, too. It’s not just the photo.

Winter 08 016-1

Here’s another of my cute friends, Jennifer. In case you hadn’t guessed, this was on a skiing day.

Winter 08 089

Here she is again at my house working on my puzzle. I’m really into puzzles lately which is strange because I never used to like puzzles. And what a great thing to do with a friend.

Winter 08 090

This is R working on a yucky puzzle. As you can see, it’s called “Beastly Body Bits” and if you look closely you can see them. I actually thought of your son, Janet. I think he might like it since he was carrying around those rubbery body bits for awhile.

Now onto our recent Guy Fawkes party. In February. It’s supposed to be in November, of course, but it was just too dry and windy so we postponed it. I didn’t take many photos this year but you can check out Dawn’s post on it to see more.  Plus, I’ve posted about it a lot in the past.  Just type in “Guy Fawkes” in that search thing in the side bar and you’ll see plenty of posts.

Winter 08 093

One of the challenges is finding a place to park. But as far as I know everyone managed and no one got blocked in.

Winter 08 095

A shot through the tree of how big the fire was. You can see the people on the right.

Winter 08 097

Winter 08 098

A blurry photo, but I wanted to show the glow from the fire.

Winter 08 102

Inside the tent. That’s Dawn and Sirdar, and their daughter, Z, there covering her face. It was actually quite toasty with the wood burning stove going inside.

Guy Fawkes

I pilfered this photo from Dawn.   That white roaster is full of chili and the card board box full of warm baked potatoes.  And then people are always kind enough to bring munchies.

So, that’s it for now. I’ll post soon about our recent ice fishing excursion. Bye Lin!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Dedication

  1. chrisb says:

    I have you in my reader so I get to read when you post. I no longer comment on as many blogs as I used to, because it became too time consuming. I still try and blog most days and like you it’s really for my family (the girls, who rarely blog themselves anymore!) and I do have a few blog friends who visit regularly. It’s always lovely to get comments but I now look on that as a bonus. I’m rabbiting on so I’ll stop there 🙂

  2. Janet says:

    Yep, Cecil would like that puzzle for sure. 🙂

    PS- I like your blog, no matter what you write!

  3. Dawn says:

    Wonderful photos; I thought that last one looked familiar. And kudos to me, those were fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the Tupperware. I didn’t get any, but I ate lots of potatoes. That’s me closest to the glow in the fire too, talking to your friend C. Thanks for saying I am cute… I think your funny 😉 .

  4. Dawn says:

    Oh, and Hi Lin and Mary. I am bad at mailing things too, because I had that item to give Mary when she was here and then I was going to send it, then send it with your stuff, and now it’s gone. I was thinking of you Mary, just not good with the actions.

  5. Debbie says:

    I didn’t get any cookies either. Even though you warned me. Thank-you so much for bringing them AND those cups.

  6. Debbie says:

    Chris – I was enjoying your “rabbiting”. Rabit all ya like! And you’re right. It’s pretty time consuming to comment all of the time.

    Thanks, Janet. 🙂

  7. Pamela says:

    I’m always so afraid I’m going to miss out on something —
    The commenting takes no time at all. It’s the reading!

    So, next year are all of us bloggers getting invited to the bonfire?
    I’m ready to travel.

    Yes, Dawn is sure cute. So is Jennifer. There must be something up there in the water.

  8. jensbranches says:

    I love reading your blog and seeing your pictures, even if they are embarassing! 🙂 It keeps me in touch with you even when we have let our busy lives keep us so busy, I feel like I am connected to you. Thanks for saying I’m cute. I don’t get that much anymore, so I will recieve it! Love ya!!

  9. Why do you think I quit blogging all the time? I think we all share this love/hate relationship with out blogs. Stick around, I’m sure it’ll get fun again.

    I have got to get that yucky puzzle for my boys. What a giggle fest they would have.

  10. Sirdar says:

    I can relate for the most part. I stopped blogging for quite a while. I’m back, but as you have probably seen, I refuse to let it consume me…as it was back then. If you keep blogging, I will keep on reading. And you are right in that we probably know more about each other through our blogs than we do in real life. At least we get along well in real life too 🙂

  11. islephilosopher says:

    Debbie – folk pop over to your blog – for who you are 😯 natural, witty, and focused 😯 well okay – apart from the ‘washing line’ incident 😉

    I know I disappear (from time to time) but then I always make my way – to those of whom I view as – my dear blogging friends.

    May your blogging continue to entertain – and may the homeschooling continue to play ‘truancy’ at least when ‘blogging’ 😉

  12. Joy T. says:

    I’ve said from the minute I started blogging, commenters are just a bonus to something I already love. I would continue to write no matter what. It’s great therapy and that’s what it’s all about for me. If I stopped writing I would have to find something else to control the swirling thoughts rambling around my head…and it would most likely involve alcohol. So writing it will be 🙂

    Oh and we are all LONG over due for a blogger’s get together!!

Leave a Reply

