Ice Fishing

The weekend before last we went ice fishing our Junior Forest Wardens club. Now, ice fishing isn’t really my thing. I don’t mind fishing when I can lay back, read a book, and feel the warm sun on my face. That experience just doesn’t translate as well in a foot of snow. But that’s just me.

It’s not bad when we go with the JFW, though, because there are a half dozen other moms standing around feeling the same thing I am. So, we get to complain talk with each other.

Winter 08 107

This is the guys clearing snow for Adrian’s outfitter’s tent.

Winter 08 133

Here it is set up. One of the dad’s is making kindling for the wood burning stove there on the right.

Winter 08 139

This is after they lit the stove and drilled a hole to fish in. Nice lake, heh? Needless to say they had to make some readjustments.

Winter 08 119

Meanwhile, the kids were outside enjoying the fishing.

Winter 08 123

Winter 08 124

It was cold. About -20 C. But the sun was shining and the company was great.

Winter 08 126

Winter 08 145

Ahhhh. After finally shovelling enough snow into the tent so as to get rid of the mini lake they were able to enjoy fishing in a little warmth.

Winter 08 163

Winter 08 160

We used the stove to heat water for hot chocolate and to cook our lunch.

 

No. I don’t love ice fishing, but I can handle once a year with a great group of people.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ice Fishing

  1. Joy T. says:

    So cool! I got a bit side-tracked while cleaning out the office and came across some old ice fishing pictures. Oh what fun we had and the kids were quite small. We haven’t gone ice fishing in years now but I really did enjoy it. And what I wouldn’t have given for a tent like THAT to warm up in! Of course now we would definitely get a really good ice fishing tent but back in the days when we were poorer then poor….it was sit around a fire or go in the truck to warm up. Great memories for sure.

  2. chrisb says:

    That is absolutely fascinating. The children looked like they were having so much fun.

  3. THAT looks like a fun time…cold aside.

    You know how to catch a polar bear? Place peas around a fishing hole and when he goes over to eat the peas, kick him in the ice hole. Hardy Har Har

  4. Debbie says:

    Good one, Robinella. Tee hee.

  5. Janet says:

    I am always scared I’ll fall through. I truly am. I don’t care HOW thick the ice is. I’m scared. Ridiculous and unfounded, I know.

  6. Dawn says:

    Great photos. It looks like a good time was had by all. We used to go ice fishing as kids. My kids have gone with my dad. My sister and bil takes their young kids out. It is a great thing for people to experience.

  7. Pamela says:

    I would like to try it once. But I’m not sure I trust sitting on the ice with a pot bellied stove melting it. ha

  8. philosophyofmind says:

    Certainly an experience 😯 I guess you folk must be used to the cold – although luv the photo’s and the clear blue sky.

    Glad you all enjoyed the event.

Leave a Reply

