A Break in the Cold

We finally have some decent weather. We’ve been getting hammered by snow and cold weather this past week, and today we got some reprieve from all that. Two days ago it was -30 degrees Celsius if you can believe it. In March! You guys in England are watching your tulips coming up and we’re here just waiting to see grass. I’m longing for it. Every winter there comes a time when I suddenly am sick of snow and start yearning for dark luscious green grass and warm summer days spent in the pool. Last Tuesday was the day for me. I’m tired of winter driving. Spinning tires on ice and have to slow down wayyy before the stop signs. Tired of having to warm the vehicle up and brushing off snow. Tired of stomping my boots to rid them of snow as I enter a building. Bleh. Bring on spring!

This was last weekend:

Winter 08 166

At least today, like I said, is warmer. Plus 1 C. I was able to kick the kids outside to play. And they had a blast. With all of the snow, Adrian made a bit of a hill for them to play on while clearing the driveway.

Winter 08 173-2

Winter 08 174-2

Winter 08 175

The cats are enjoying the warmer weather as well. They get a little growly when stuck inside for too long. Especially Mowgli (above).

Winter 08 185

 

I was talking with my friend, Lana, today about home decorating. She’s one of those people who have talent in this area. She’s great at turning a dinky little place into a cozy haven. I, on the other hand, feel incompetent when it comes to turning my space into my own unique retreat. For instance, some people’s decor is contemporary, classical or what-have-you while mine is…homeschool.

Winter 08 086

We don’t have a separate classroom. We do the bulk of our school work at our dining room table. I like to put stuff up on the walls for the kids to see so my livingroom area doesn’t have great portraits displayed. Instead, I have white boards and posters as you can see to the left of the table. Along with my beautiful accessory you see plugged in there…the electric pencil sharpener! Doesn’t that splash of red just add to the space? And that Easy Bake Oven is just divine. He he. It’s not usually there, at least.

Winter 08 085

My dad made me these wooden frames for my white board and map of Canada. I love having my white board up on the wall like this, but it sure does make my living room look like a classroom. 🙂

Winter 08 083

Winter 08 084

While some people have framed works of art in their homes my major piece comes in the form of these drawers my dad made for me with my kids’ hand prints all over them. We store our craft supplies in there.

I don’t really mind the homeshcool paraphernalia everywhere. It’s a big part of our life after all. I would really like to do something nice with our deck this year. I’d show a photo of it right now, but it’s a huge mess at the moment. Up to this point, it’s basically been a outdoor playroom. But I have a vision of somewhere nice to go and sit and drink ice tea with friends. Or where the famly can sit on a warm evening and have supper or play a game. I guess I’ll just need to recruit Lana.

Tonight, I’m looking forward to an Epicure party over at Dawn’s place. I’ve been wanting to buy something from Epicure for ages but was unsure what to start with so it’ll be nice to do some taste testing tonight. Plus, Dawn always has something yummy to eat. Mmmm. I’m gonna have a small supper tonight to save up on points.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Break in the Cold

  1. I’m right there with you on wanting, needing, spring to get here soon. For some unknown reason, this has been one looong winter for me. PS – love those map and whiteboard frames.

  2. Pamela says:

    I see green on the foothills, but the mountains still are blue and WHITE

  3. Heather K says:

    I’m so ready for spring too! We’ve finally gotten rid of all of our snow here in this part of BC…where we don’t normally have snow for more than a couple of weeks at a time!! Today it is +7C!!! It was -11 yesterday…so we’re really glad to see the higher temperature!!
    I just had an Epicure party…their stuff is so yummy! I’d highly recommend the Sansel(red garlic).it’s so yummy…especially if you love garlic! I use it as a general seasoning on everything!! We love it. We’ve gone through a whole bottle in about 2 weeks..and I ordered more! Have fun at your party!!
    I hope you continue with the nicer weather..as we’re supposed to here!
    Heather

  4. philosophyofmind says:

    I guess my ‘Spring’ photo’s would bring 👿 looks – so I hope you see some colour soon – spring brightens each day.

    Hope you enjoy the evening at Dawns – remember to do the washing up – afterwards 😯

  5. philosophyofmind says:

    Oooops forgot to add – I luv the photo’s – I do miss snow scenes – and only wish we had more snow here

  6. Two Cats Are Better Than One says:

    Man, Mowgli has got big!

  7. Dawn says:

    Yes, it was a great switch in the weather. It is better than going the other way. I am ready for spring too. It was nice to have all the people over for the party; what a fun time and I ate too much.

  8. Carla says:

    With only a week before spring official starts, I’m longing for that white stuff to disappear as well. It’s time. I love the drawers with all the hand prints on them. They at least look cheerful if the snow does not.

  9. Emma says:

    I think your photos show a home full of love and use, and isn’t that better than a living room no one is allowed to use?

    I love Epicure. My friend uses it in almost every meal.

Leave a Reply

