Belize…the adventure begins

So, I guess it takes going to Belize to get me Blogging again. Who knew? Anyway. It was our intention to Skype with the kids (who are staying with my parents) while we were away. BUT. Skype isn’t working here, for some reason. We think it has to do with security issues. We’re going to look into it, but in all likely hood we won’t be able to do it. So, instead I’ll blog so that the kids (and y’all, of course) can see what we’re up to.

So, here are photos. They’re not touched up or picnicked or photo shopped. They are as they are.

IMG 1768

Gotta take photos of clouds when you’re in a plane, right?? Just gotta.

IMG 1770

IMG 1774

Adrian humouring me.

IMG 1777

Also had to take a photo of the sunset from the plane.

IMG 1784

Cool food court in Sanfrancisco Airport. With the real friendly woman’s voice coming over the PA I kinda felt like I was in the movie, “The Island”.

IMG 1785

Adrian eating his supper. 🙂

IMG 1793

We started in Edmonton, then went to Sanfrancisco, then Houston, then Belize city, and THEN we had to take this little plane to Placentia island. I won’t lie, it was a little scary. But the pilot was friendly and the plane made it obviously.  My fears just came from being in a small plane.  The view was stupendous.

IMG 1787

Adrian on the rickety rockety plane.

IMG 1790

Belize city from the teeny plane.

IMG 1795

Now we’re at Placentia and we had to take this bus down a bumpy jumpy road to the resort. Some of it was paved and the rest was…an adventure.

IMG 1796

These are people we’re hanging with on the trip.

IMG 1797

IMG 1798

Houses we saw on the road. Some were real beaten down and very very sad while others were pretty cool.

IMG 1800

There will be more tomorrow. Now. I must sleep. I’ve had about 2 hours of sleep (squished up on a plane) in the last 24 hours.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Belize…the adventure begins

  1. Dawn says:

    Great photos; I was checking all day for a post. I am glad you made it there safe and sound. It looks like an adventure; a warm adventure.

  2. Janet says:

    WOO HOO! Can’t wait to see more! You look like you’re having fun already!

  3. Steph says:

    Skype is blocked by BTL the local telecommunications company. I live here and have been trying to bypass this for a long time and it’s complicated and irritating, so I didn’t want you to have to wonder or bang your head into the wall trying to get it to work like I have. If you use Skype Out to call out to a phone number by loading 10 dollars onto your account, it MIGHT work, maybe one in 100 tries. BTL is a monopoly and many people are working to try to change things, but right now, they almost completely block any kind of VOIP. You may find an internet cafe who has an IT guy who can bypass it, and be able to call for cheaper, but the local rates are crazy, from 50 cents to over one dollar a minute to the U.S. I’m sorry about this inconvenience, I understand how frustrating it is. Welcome to Belize and please enjoy your stay. We’re happy to have you here.

  4. Debbie says:

    Thanks Steph for letting me know.

  5. chrisb says:

    What an adventure. These are great photos-looking forward to the next installment.

  6. Jen Boustead says:

    So happy to hear and see that you have arrived safely! What an adventure you have had so far!! Tell Adrian he looks great, I haven’t seen him in a while! Have a wonderful time exploring the beautiful new surroundings you have!! Can’t wait to see and hear more about your trip!! Be safe!
    Jen

Leave a Reply

