Belize…again.

I know that Belize is old news now. And most of you (all six of you) who read my blog are also on Facebook so you’ve seen these photos. But I was reminded yesterday while Skyping with Adrian’s family in England that I have one reader who isn’t on Facebook. So, I thought I’d post these for Lin.  Hi Lin!

Belize cracks 2

Here is a little evidence of the earthquake that happened while we were down there.

Belize village cracks

This was in Placentia Village.

For most of our stay we were in the resort, but we went into the village on the last day. Which was wonderful because it gave us a chance to see the real Belize. Sadly, we had a very short time there so I just snapped like crazy. I was a total tourist.

Belize village

We were walking down the “street” and this is what I saw when I looked to the left. Is that not gorgeous!?!?! Wouldn’t you like to walk outside your front door and walk out onto this? Again, I wish we’d had more time to mosy down there and just soak in the view.

IMG 2243

We bought a drum from the lady on the left. Her name is Alex and it’s too bad her eyes are closed. She was a reluctant photo subject in the first place so I didn’t dare ask for a re-shot. Anyway, this is her home. I was struck by the simplicity, but guess what? She doesn’t worry about organizing closets during her free time. And hello! That ocean photo above is what she sees right through those windows. Gotta love that.

She was explaining to me that they just don’t have the house culture that we do. They spend all of their time outside and spend their money on other things.

Belize village 9

I loved the buildings. The colours were so cool.

Belize village 2

Belize village 3

IMG 1888

This is just a cool faucet in a bathroom in the hotel.

Belize palm trees

The beach in the resort.

IMG 1963

We went on a helicopter ride to view the property.

Belize view from helic

View from the helicopter.

Belize view from helic

That’s the dock where we had supper each evening.

Belize view from helicop

This is the resort. Our building was on the far left there.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Belize…again.

  1. Carla says:

    Those earthquake photos look a little scary. The rest, however, look fabulous. I love that the houses are such bright colours. It must have been a wonderful time.

  2. Dawn says:

    Gorgeous place. It is a different culture than here for sure. I like outdoors but the cold winters here keep me in more than I would be there.

  3. Pamela says:

    Well I’m on facebook (sort of) and I didn’t see the photos. So, I enjoyed them here.

    I really feel like a Borg when I’m on facebook.

  4. poetoftheisles says:

    Wow I am impressed of your photography – they are superb and you take the time to capture all the scenes beautifully.

    Have to agree with Carla of the earthquake – it must have been quite frightening for everyone.

    Belize is a place which obviously is appealing for the tranquility of life.

    ps If I stay with ‘Facebook’ can I be included 😥

  5. Steffi says:

    What for a wonderful place!Fantastic photos!Wow…you was in a helicopteR!

Leave a Reply

