Out With the Old…In With the New

My next door neighbours, Don and Ruth, are moving and I’m very sad.  They were wonderful neighbours.  When we moved into our place 13 years ago they welcomed us with open arms.  Right from the get-go we had coffee visits and fire pit rendezvous.  Christmas lunches.  Sugar borrowing.  When Adrian worked out of town Don came and plowed our driveway of snow.  Our kids were babies at the time and I couldn’t possibly get out there to do it on my own.  Ruth has always been so generous with her garden.  Inviting me over to help myself whenever I wanted.  They were awesome with my kids, too.  If I had to send the kids next door with something it wouldn’t be unusal for them not return for a good hour because they’d stayed to visit. 

Hmmm.  This relationship sure sounds like it was kind of one way, and it probably was to a point, but we did have them over to our place a lot, too! 

They were just awesome awesome neighbours.  And tomorrow is their last day.  They aren’t moving far.  Just a fifteen minute drive away, but they won’t be our neighbours anymore.  😦

We have met the new neighbours and they seem very nice.  They were actually over to our place last weekend for our annual neighbourhood lobster fest.  And I’m proud to say that we all gave them a warm welcome.  I’m looking forward to getting to know them.

But I will miss Don and Ruth.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Out With the Old…In With the New

  1. Melanie says:

    I hope you get on as well with your new neighbours. Thanks for popping in on my new blog.

  2. Dawn says:

    I am going to miss them too. Luckily we will still welcome them to our gatherings with open arms.

  3. Beckie says:

    Getting new neighbors is kind of like a box of chocolates – you never quite know what you’re going to get.

  4. Carla says:

    It’s always sad when good friends move away. Hopefully these new neighbours will be the sort of people who can fill their place, and luckily the old neighbours won’t be too far away.

  5. Steffi says:

    It´s always really sad when good neighbours move.I wish I could be your new neighbour!

  6. preobrazhenskii says:

    It’s always sad when one’s neighbours – depart, especially when friendship came from the heart.

    I do hope they will continue from a distance and of your new neighbours they will follow the harmony of good neighbours.

  7. Losing good neighbors is a sad thing. I sometimes wish we’d never moved from our last home, but all of our neighbors that we knew from the beginning have moved on too. So it wouldn’t be the same anymore. I hope your new neighbors are good ones.

    Oh and I’ve moved back to NASW. http://notastepfordwife.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

