Decorating Guru? Not I, said the Rooster.

Some people have mad skills in the decorating department and some people (like me) just plain…don’t. I try. I look at paint colours but all of the options paralyze instead of inspire me. In my home, I move items around and attempt to make the space look pretty, but I usually manage to make it more cluttered or disorganized. Knick knacks and the various accessories that are meant to compliment and add character to a space tend to overwhelm or confuse me. And now that summer’s here, there’s all of the outdoor decorating paraphernalia to consider as well. For instance, when I’m standing in the store I find myself wondering, “what the heck would someone want with a wire rooster??”. But I’m sure there’s someone out there that knows the perfect way to use that rooster and have it look great and not tacky. Someone visiting their home would see that rooster and say, “What a cool rooster!”.

Seriously though…what’s with all the wire roosters? Every garden store I go into these days seems to have one. And they’re only sixty dollars or something!! Is there something I’m not getting??

Back to decorating and those who are gurus in this area…

Enter my friend, Lana.

She rents a small home that is limited in its options…from my perspective anyway. But everytime I go to her house she has some new arrangement or design. Outside is the same. Her deck is a cozy oasis. She just seems to know what to do.

When she comes to my house for a visit, if I show her a problem spot that I’ve been toiling over for a long time, she’ll say, “why not try this?”. She’ll then proceed to shuffle things about and in a matter of minutes, presto chango, I have a higher functioning, eye appealing space. This is what happened yesterday.

We have a largish screened in deck. Up until now it’s been like an outdoor playroom. My kids’ toys dominated the place. We had a bouncy horse and a playhouse and then all of the lose toys that ended up laying around. But THIS year, I want to change that. I want to transform my deck into a place where I can go to relax and read or entertain friends.

IMG 2503

I don’t have very much deck furniture – yet – but Lana re-arranged what I did have into a pleasing and, frankly, more sensible arrangement. Just silly little things like pulling the table out to the middle of the floor instead of having it shoved up against the wall. Now why didn’t I think of that? lol It looks better and we can actually all sit at the table. Go figure.

On that note, my first desire for my deck is to get a dining set. I think it’s time to replace my cheap, rickety white plastic table. It’s so ugly that I HAVE to use a table cloth to make it presentable.

Next I’ll be painting the floor. Then I’ll have to attack the dreaded accessories. I’ll probably get some help with that. I actually have plenty of friends who have knowledge in this department. Hmmm. Maybe it’s not that they’re so talented as much as I’m totally not talented. Ah well. We all have different gifts, right?

But back to the accessories. I don’t want a lot. I’m not actually a knick knacky kind of person – less is more for me. But I do like the odd item strategically placed that just seems to add a bit of character.

Anyway, by the end of the summer I hope to have a lovely before/after photo to show you. In the meantime, after just cleaning up and decluttering (as well as the recent re-organization) I’m already enjoying my deck. I love to sit out there in the morning and listen to the birds while drinking coffee. Or relax while reading my book in the evening after the busyness of the day.

I hope you all have your own place to retreat to and find peace.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decorating Guru? Not I, said the Rooster.

  1. preobrazhenskii says:

    Sometimes its good to have an input from someone whose talents – exceed our own.

    I do agree the outdoors experience – is wonderful as sitting on my balcony I listen to the birds in chorus from early morn to late evening.

  2. Dawn says:

    You have such a nice space to relax. Especially since it is screened which keeps the mosquitoes at bay.

  3. Emma says:

    I’m not a decorative person either. I am always amazed at the talents of some of my friends.

    Looking forward to the before and afters!

  4. Carla says:

    You’re inspiring me to get on with it. Right now I’m just trying to to clean out and declutter my basement.

  5. Pamela says:

    you have a screen. Now that is on my wish list (albeit waaaaaaay down at the bottom) == there are so many things I want to do.

    I should probably put you lana on my list, too. I think my decorating skills are probably even less than yours. sigh.

  6. Steffi says:

    I have no talent to decorate too.I am always really surprised how now other peoples can do it when I visiting they at home.

Leave a Reply

