The First Day NOT Back to “School” – Whoo hooooo!

My title  to this post is a little ironic, actually.  I just came back from our first homeschool support group meeting of the year and the guest speaker talked about, among other things, the difference between home SCHOOLING and home EDUCATION.  Essentially home SCHOOLING is schooling at home.  It’s the same stuff you do at public school but ya just do it at home.  Whereas home EDUCATION is educating your children – their hearts, minds, and souls.  And it doesn’t look like school.  You don’t necessarily sit at a desk or have a blackboard.  You’re probably not even in the house.  You’re out on adventures learning through life’s experiences. 

So, today is a celebration for me.  While so many kids trudge off to the classroom I’m still making fun plans for my kids outside.  It’s wayyyy too nice of weather to be stuck inside at the table.  I am getting us back into some kind of routine this week, but it’s pretty loosey goosey.  In fact, I like to rebel a bit and purposely NOT do school work during what is traditionally the first week back. 

I love homeschooling (or rather home educating) my children.  I love spending time with them, and I love how much they enjoy spending time with me.  It’s not always a bed of roses, of course.  I have days where I feel like shoving them onto the first school bus I see and not caring at which school they end up.  But those days aren’t EVERY day.  The good ones far out way the bad or challenging ones.  And I look forward to the upcoming year.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Day NOT Back to “School” – Whoo hooooo!

  1. Robinella says:

    Definitely Home Educating wins out! We went to the zoo today and sketched lions. There are four new baby cubs and they were adorable. We had beautiful weather as well.

  2. Dawn says:

    I love that we aren’t doing school this week either and people ask the kids if they don’t have school and they say they are home schooled and I say “We aren’t starting this week because it is still summer out…and we don’t have to”. Okay, perhaps it isn’t nice to gloat, but….I do it anyway ;-)… because I can 😉 .

Leave a Reply

