Autumn Tree Study

Outdoor Hour button

Close to our home we have a lovely park along side the river. I absolutely love it there in the fall. The colours are just ablaze with yellow, orange, and red. There is one tree, in particular, that I love to visit while we’re there. It stands on its own in the middle of the field just begging for you to lay down your blanket and have a picnic beneath its branches. It’s this tree that we decided to focus on for our Autumn Tree Study put on by Barb at HNS.

Tree

(Picnic with a friend awhile back.)

Autumn Playground 047

(My son, R, a couple of years ago sitting at its base.)

Sadly, I have only a couple of photos of this tree. And now there will be no more.

A wind storm has knocked it down. 😦 We went to the park with friends the other day to do our nature study, but found the tree laying on the ground. It’s just a tree, I know, but I was pretty sad. I have memories about this tree from my childhood.

IMG 3403

IMG 3405

R with his friend standing on the roots.

It’s sad to see such a large old tree come down. It obviously can’t be replaced. Not soon anyway. Such a waste.

The only positive is that the kids at least got to see the root system.

IMG 3411

After the shock of the fallen tree we we carried on and went exploring. The other aspect of this park that I like is the cliffs. The kids love to climb the cliffs.

IMG 3420

 

We did have a wonderful day despite the tree. My friend, Jen, and I reclined on a blanket under a tree and watched the leaves fall. This was peaceful and exhilarating at the same time and a lovely way to spend some time with a friend.

IMG 3450

Then the kids had to have a whirl on the merry-go-round.

IMG 3432

IMG 3438

You don’t see these at playgrounds anymore.

IMG 3433

Maybe there’s a reason why. 😉

IMG 3451

When we returned home it was still so lovely outside that I decided to hang out on my hammock and watch the birds at the feeders…one of my favourite things to do.

So, we’ll have to find another tree to study through the seasons. We’ll likely choose one on our back yard which will be fine. We had drawn some sketches a couple of weeks ago. We’ll do some more now that the leaves have changed colour.

I just love Autumn.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Autumn Tree Study

  1. What a great tree study. An old friend that happens to be a tree is something that is hard to replace in our memories. At least you had a chance to share this tree with your children and now they can have their own memories and stories about the tree. 🙂

    I look forward to seeing which tree you will chose now.

    Thanks for sharing your entry.
    Barb-Harmony Art Mom

  2. Robinella says:

    We.used.to.live.next.to.a.golf.course.and.there.was.a.tree.that.let.the.wind.dictate.its.growth…Sideways!..It.was.an.evergreen.and.resembled.a.bonsai.due.to.the.sideways.growth.

    I.loved.sitting.at.the.kitchen.table.looking.at.that.tree…Then.a.hurricane.rolled.through.and.took.the.tree.with.it.

    I.understand.your.sadness.over.losing.that.tree…I.felt.the.same….We.are.sooo.behind.in.this.nature.study.

  3. Pamela says:

    planting a new tree would make a great class study (:

    I love fall, too. (I’m so easily charmed, tho. When winter arrives it will steal my devotion)

  4. Dawn says:

    It is too bad about the big tree. Looks like you had a lovely time. I love autumn too; I just wish we had more of one this year. Perhaps it will warm some and we will have some autumn weather yet.

  5. Julie says:

    Too bad about the tree, our community lost tons of them in Hurricane Ivan, but your’re right we did get to at least study the root system. 😉

  6. chrisb says:

    That looks a lovely place to visit and for children to explore. I would have felt sad about losing the tree. I love all the autumn colours and what could be better than to lie in a hammock on a beautiful autumn day.
    BTW I’m going to get Beccy looking after my farm when I’m away next week LOL I can’t bear to think of it all withering away!

Leave a Reply

