Art and Lego

HSANY0034

I’ve been struggling with my method (or lack thereof) of homeschooling. Most of the time I worry that my kids aren’t learning enough. At the advice of a friend, I decided to start recording what they do.

Julia has been doing a lot of art lately. She spent the better part of yesterday drawing using an art book that I bought, I think, last year. She hasn’t really touched it until now. She told me that she previously thought the drawings in it would be too hard but she was excited to find out that it actually teaches her a lot about shading etc.

IMG 4775

IMG 4776

Before we left on holidays she decided to do a painting. She just grabbed a piece of cardboard to use as a canvas.

IMG 4777

Tonight she decided to work with clay and make a figure of a girl. She’s done this before but this time added beads and string.

IMG 4778 IMG 4781

Today was her first day of art class. I’m happy that I registered her because she really enjoyed it.

Ryan is really interested in Lego and, lately, card games. He was introduced to Solitaire while we were on holidays and really enjoys playing it. I think because he doesn’t have to depend on someone else to play with him.

Unfortunately, he’s sick with a cold at the moment so I decided to ease him back into “school”. But he’s very curious about where the cold virus comes from, how it’s transmitted, and what causes the cold symptoms (such as a sore throat etc.). So we’ve been reading up on that.

Right now, at this moment, my table is filled with Lego (since Adrian and Ryan were playing with it yesterday), clay, and beads. Oh and my camera. I guess that encompasses the interests of the entire family. 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art and Lego

  1. wissink6 says:

    Great IDEA !!! Her drawing is looking great too.

  2. Dawn says:

    Sounds like a wonderful learning environment and they learnt so very much on their vacation in a far away, tropical place. My girls are enjoying art too.

Leave a Reply

