More Learning Going On Than I Thought

We had a quiet day.  I was awakened by the phone at 8:30.  Yes…8:30.  It was my friend, Lana, who wanted to stop by for a visit after she dropped off one of her day home kids at playschool.  I, of course, panicked.  I’m not dressed!  My house is a mess!  My kids are asleep and being unproductive.  She could hear the hesitation in my voice, and said “well, if you don’t want me to”.  How sad.  I’d sacrifice a nice visit with a friend because of the state of my house.  So, instead I said “Come on over.  You’re always welcome.”  I hung up the phone and promptly set to work.  Actually, I didn’t.  I sat down and read Jaime’s blog.  I woke up slowly and THEN set to work.  And you know what?  It all turned out fine.

After she left I made the kids do some math.  “Made” is the correct term because they were less then thrilled.  They were okay once they got started but really…something along the way has created Ryan especially to detest math.  And he’s good at it, too.  So, I don’t understand it.  I’ve tried to explain to him why we need math in life so that he could learn to embrace it, but it hasn’t worked.  If anything it’s made the situation worse.  Julia doens’t have quite the aversion that Ryan has, but she can still get frustrated.

Lately, I’ve been having conversations with my friend, Leo (who’s a woman by the way – don’t be fooled by the name), about UNschooling.  For those of you who’ve never heard of the term “unschooling”…I’m sorry.  I just don’t feel comfortable trying to explain it yet.  Mainly because I have many of my own misconceptions and judgements about it.  I never thought that I’d even consider being of one THOSE unschoolers.  At any rate, if you’re interested (Mary, Elsa, Lin) please click on this website:  http://www.holtgws.com/whatisunschoolin.html.  There is a short write-up on the “definition” and explains things fairly well, I think.  You can also click on this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bXVkRXzYqPc.  It’s a 7 minute You Tube video where a mom talks about unschooling.

It’s new to me.  After six years of homeschooling and knowing unschoolers I find I really don’t know much about unschooling.  I thought I understood the whole “child led” concept, but I didn’t.  Not really.  Which takes me back to what I posted yesterday.  For awhile, I’m going to attempt to stay out of my kids’ way.  They’re learning all of the time; I just haven’t taken notice.

Today:

Julia continued with art exploration.  She spent over an hour using face make-up and learning application techniques.  She also worked on an art project given to her by her art teacher.   And then listened to her audio book in her room while she made jewelry.

Ryan’s fascination with playing cards continues.  Today, however, it went beyond Solitaire.  He was quietly stacking the cards in different formations for quite a while and then asked me if I wanted to hear about the kingdom he had created.   I said, sure.  He then proceeded to explain to me a complicated society with a class and legal system and the cards were his props to that end.  It was completely fascinating to me.  Last year, I tried to give a similar assignment when we were studying the feudal system and he was very reluctant and uninterested.

So, what did we do for school today?  Technically only math.  But really they did so much more.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Learning Going On Than I Thought

  1. Peter says:

    Education is the knowledge in all forms created (art r maths) may those of us in senior years derive an equal ability.

  2. Dawn says:

    I got tears in my eyes when I read what R was doing. It is so cool that he did last years assignment in a way that was interesting and stimulating and teaching to you. On the other hand, I think he has learnt many valuable lessons listening to his dad about governments too. Don’t downplay the overheard conversations….and don’t sweat them either 😉 .

Leave a Reply

