Tuck-in Revelation

Keeping with the spirit of writing down what I observe my kids doing/learning, I had to pop back on here to share a conversation I just had with Ryan. 

I was tucking him into bed and we started talking about his desire to play the violin.  I was in the middle of apologizing to him about doubting his ability to take on the task of learning to play the instrument when he suddenly said, “Your eyes are incredible.”  Well…thinking he was complimenting me, I was taken aback and flattered all at once.  Then he continued, “Do you know what man has made that comes closest to the eye?  The camera.  Imagine if our eyes were cameras.  They would always have to be focusing and refocusing and it would take time.”  And, true to his style, he demonstrated through actions what that be like.  And then he went on to say how he’s “amazed” what humans have made.  How we started out with clubs as weapons and now we have missiles and nukes.  Of course, I couldn’t just leave it at that because I’m uncomfortable with the discussions of weapons. I responded by saying that humans have great capacity for creativity – it’s just too bad we use it for creating weapons.  LOL  Oh well. 

Ryan is a wonderfully deep thinker.  I love our conversations.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuck-in Revelation

  1. Peter says:

    Indeed this young man has a wonderful contribution to all who are prepared to listen. His philosophy and analysis is thought provoking and wothy of praise as i’m sure would be his talent for the violin.

  2. Dawn says:

    Awesome. I finally finished reading it after your “taken aback and flattered all at once” comment at which I was giggling at to the point of tears and couldn’t see through my contacts…in keeping with the whole focus thing. Kids are great thinkers and can teach us much.

Leave a Reply

