Miss You Still, Robyn

In November a young woman named Robyn passed away quite suddenly of pancreatic cancer. She simply felt ill at the beginning of November and by the end of the month she had passed on.

She was only 34 years old.

She’s wife to Paul. Mommy to Spencer and Kylie. Daughter to Sherril. She’s a sister. A friend. An actress. A reader. A writer. A good listener. She loved to sing.  She was awesome at Scramble.  She was so smart. 

I wish I’d known her better.  Adrian and her husband, Paul, are friends. They didn’t live far from us, but we each had our own lives and concerns. Robyn and I just didn’t hook up. But her passing came as a blow. Naturally. She’s a young mom. She had wonderful plans for her future. It’s such a great loss.

I’m so sad for her family…her children. They’re 4 and 7 yrs old. Her husband, Paul, is a hero. He’s being so strong having to be mommy and daddy now, and he’s doing wonderfully. I’m sure it’s so hard, though. I think of all the little things that daddies don’t normally have to worry about. I’m worried about it him, too. As we all move on with our lives his grief deepens.

When Robyn passed, Paul set up a memorial Facebook page. I go on there every once in awhile when I think of her and cry when I read the continued messages of shock and memorandum. Some time back, her brother posted a poem written by a close friend in Robyn’s memory. The poem touched me so deeply that I asked permission to share it on my blog. He just gave me permission to do so…

Daily we toil through this mortal coil

Towards goals we believe are of worth

We strive for what’s right, and to spread forth our light,

As we pass by our time here on Earth

In our faith we all know, the seeds …that you sow

Bear the fruits of our love and our spirit

And we all know the call will be made to us all

We just hope we are old when we hear it.

But when someone so young is called to be among

Those who have passed into God’s hands

We always ask why, “Why did they have to die?”

And we question just where our faith stands

But before we lay blame, or curse on His name

Reflect on the life that was lead

For the measure of worth, is not how long we’re on Earth

But what we have done here instead.

Robyn’s life was so brief, which deepens our grief

But the flame of her life was so bright

She gave us so much, and the lives she did touch

Will forever be changed by her light

In this time of sorrow, from Robyn’s life borrow

The teaching of how one should endeavor

To shine with such power, up to our f…inal hour

Until we can once more be together.

So now as we toil through this mortal coil

From Robyn’s great legacy we know

It’s not how long we live, but how much we give

That defines how much in our lives we did sow.

In loving Memory of Robyn
Galas-Brown

By Gregory B Venus

n187324239307 9265

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miss You Still, Robyn

  1. Pamela says:

    a beautiful tribue — and one that should be published.
    how sad — I know so many who have died young…. and i always question it.

  2. diaryfromscotland says:

    Deeply emotive and tragic is the loss of one so young and the sorrow for the family and friends.

    May the poem allow all of you the strength to continue and reflect upon the happiness she gave during her life.

  3. Dawn says:

    I only met her once or twice and it was a blow to me also and I still think of her when I drive by their house or see Paul. It is an awesome poem.

Leave a Reply

