Working it out

Learning productivity has been a bit low lately.  At least, that’s the way it seems to me.  I’m trying to have faith that learning is taking place, but I’m battling with the idea of what “school” should look like.  I need concrete evidence that learning is taking place.  Such as a worksheet filled in, a book read, some piece of knowledge recited to me, or what-have-you.  Even though I KNOW that it’s not the only way to learn – not even the best way to learn – I’m having a hard time releasing it.  How do I prove to someone that my kids are learning?  What do I say to fellow homeschoolers about what MY kids are accomplishing?  I say this realizing that I’m letting my insecurity speak, but I let it speak whenever I get mad at my kids about not “doing” school.

Right at this moment my kids are playing Lego.  Great.  BUT they’re arguing over plot lines, and Lego pieces, and who is going to be what in their game.  Ryan wants things to happen in the game and Julia wants things to be happy and safe.  She gets completely and utterly frustrated with his suggestions because they usually mean something is about to go wrong in the game.  For example, a natural disaster or war.  I know a wiser parent might have the right words or advice to give, but as much as I admire Ryan’s desire for excitement I can relate to Julia’s desire for safety.  She doesn’t want her house broken into and everything stolen!  She doesn’t want someone shooting her person in the game.  So, I’m finding difficult to remain neutral when I do agree with her.  I try to stay out of it, but their arguing irks me to no end. 

I suppose they’re learning cooperation…sort of.

We had a nice math lesson yesterday…after we got over the theatrics of how much Ryan hates math.  Julia was learning about counting by 4’s so we had a nice long discussion on how 4 quarter cups measures equal 1 cup.  And then different combinations there-in.  We discuss this while we’re baking but I find they’re usually so focused on getting the end product that they don’t want to talk about the measuring cups, etc. at the time.

We also began reading “The Last Safe House” by Barabara Greenwood.  It’s about the Underground Railroad.  It evoked some anger in the kids, especially Ryan.  He started playing a game where he was blowing up slave ships. 

I’m also struggling with how to respond to people (my parents) when they ask how school is going and if we’ve caught up from being away on holidays.  I’ve just been answering vaguely for now.  I don’t think my mom would “get” or embrace the whole Unschooling idea.  And certainly not when I’m not totally confident in yet.  😀 

We’re in transition, I guess, and transitions aren’t always easy.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working it out

  1. diaryfromscotland says:

    How often one can reflect of school days and the playground in which the playing of games often involved the violence of war and destruction.

    For me it was the need to ensure a sense of purpose within dialogue as well as the need for security and awareness of all options.

    That still applies through adult life.

    Good luck and ‘May the Force Be With You’ 🙂

  2. Dawn says:

    It is a struggle for me still, when people ask how school is going, or how the kids are progressing or when we are done school. When the kids are entering high school the questions change some to, what the kids are planning to do after high school, if they want to go to school, if they like being home schooled. I think for the question of what they want to do, that is asked of every parent as there kids are getting close to graduation but if one home schools and the child isn’t planning to go to post secondary, one feels more like the cause of that, and a let down to home schooling in general. When you consider how many kids in the school population go on to further education, the numbers don’t compare, but somehow we feel pressure to have our kids exceed those in regular school.

    The personalities sure shine through when they are playing and I would venture a guess Ryan will marry someone who desires security and Julia will marry someone who likes adventure and a little bit of risk. Seems life balances that way and the playing they do now will help them work things out with their spouses. A wonderful gift despite the mother needing Valium 😉 .

Leave a Reply

