Life Goes On

I went for a rejuvenating walk with a friend this morning while Ryan and Julia were in their music lesson.  It was a bit breezy, but the sun was shining and the air fresh and crisp.  We saw a rabbit (beautifully brown and ready for summer) bounce by and even attempt to come close and check us out before it shot off in fear.  A Pileated Woodpecker was hunting for lunch at the base of a tree and a brown and orange butterfly fluttered across our path and almost landed on my shoulder. These were subtle reminders that life goes on no matter our struggles. 

My friend has also has been feeling down lately and so the walk turned out to be a bit of a therapy session.  We shared our woes and brainstormed solutions.  I don’t know if we actually accomplished anything other than lamenting our sorrows, but I did feel better afterwards.  Maybe it was the exercise – likely it was the excercise – and fresh air but it could be that it’s nice to know we’re not alone.   Especially when it seems from the outside that the other has her proverbial ducks all in a row, only to find out…not so much.  Sad how that should give me comfort, buuuuut what’s the saying?  Misery loves company?  😉

After I collected the kids from their lesson we came home, and I sat outside with Ryan reading.  He on the hammock and me on our couch swing.  He’s engrossed with the Lightening Thief series at the moment. 

Can I just pause to say how much I LOVE LOVE LOVE that he – uh – loves to read?!?  I’m so happy for him, because there’s a beautiful magic that occurs when you “fall” into a story and the world around you slips away.  I also know that you’re never alone as long as you have a book. 

So, it was a lovely afternoon sitting in the sunshine.  I was aware of all that needed to be done, but I allowed myself to be outside and enjoy the time with my son.   The squirrels were busy nattering away, the birds were at the feeders, the flies were buzzing and the cats were watching all of it lazily but intently…as was I. 

Too soon we had to leave.  I was meeting my parents at the bank.  They’re getting a new Will sorted out and they want me be to be the Executor and Power of Attorney.  Spending an hour talking about what will happen in the event of your parents’ death has a way of putting things into perspective.  Actually, it also made me proud of my mom.  It’s her that’s getting all of this in order.  You should see the binder she has organized with all of her documents!  And they’ve already pre-paid for their funeral all the way to the flowers and the music.  Most people (hello) avoid these things, but mom is giving me a great gift.  I hope it’s a long way off before I have to deal with any of this, but I know when the day comes that I’ll be able to focus on my grief rather than the stress of paperwork.  I’ll be checking out her binder so that we can get our affairs in order the same way.  If I get around to it that is. 

Sigh. It was a good day over all.  I’m trying to improve my outlook.  I have a way to go.  The sunshine did help a lot although I still have to put myself in motion.  The walk today showed me that my body craves movement.  And now…it’s craving sleep.  So off I go to get me some.  🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Goes On

  1. hjdong says:

    Hope you feel better. A walk in the spring certainly can help.

  2. Peter says:

    I find a walk therapeutic and given that I have a wee dog such walks often become adventures and fun especially on the beach.

    If only one could prescribe a daily walk for everyone to share in the beauty and mystique of nature and in conversing with others along the way.

  3. Pamela says:

    makes me feel guilty. I haven’t even printed out and signed my will. have it on my computer

  4. Pamela says:

    loved your walk description — think I’ll head out this morning and see whats chirping

Leave a Reply

