Bee Keeping

We’re bee keepers!

Bee keeping has been an interest of Adrian’s for quite a while and his desire to give it a go has just been realized. He and our neighbour, Tyler, went in on the venture together and the kids have come along for the ride.

I must confess that I “poo-pooed” the idea in the beginning, but warmed to it over time and am now officially stoked. It’s pretty darn cool! And because I’m now on board, I tend to stick my nose in and offer unsolicited opinions which, I’m sure, my husband enjoys. 🙄

No, we’re not doing it to make money on selling honey (although I hope we do since this has put us in the poor house!). lol I’m kidding! Kind of. It can be quite an expensive hobby, frankly. We’ve purchased the bees, 2 hives, protective clothing with gloves, smoker, etc. for three people. Many hobbies that people undertake are expensive, too, though and it’s a great learning opportunity for the children…one which I know they’ll never forget. Especially because I’m taking video every step of the way!

In this first video, Tyler and Adrian are getting the hives ready for the bees. It involved making a sugar pollen substitute, pouring it into hollow frames, adding the feeding tubes, and then inserting them into the boxes. This will sustain the bees until they can get pollen from flowers.

Next, they begin the process of “installing” the bees to their new home. By “installing” I mean shaking them from a tube into the hive. This hive will be known as the “brood chamber”. It will contain the queen and most of the bees. The upper boxes, which will be added later, are called supers and they will contain the honey. HOPEFULLY, we’ll get honey this season but there’s no guarantee.
By the time we picked the bees up from the supplier, and made the pollen substitute, antibiotic powder mixture, etc. it was almost 10:00 at night. I think the bee outfits combined with darkness adds a certain ambience myself. Not to mention our neighbour, Bob’s, “funny” little comments. Ya just can’t help who you live next to! 😉

There was discussion over whether or not to release the Queen into the hive right away. This is where, because we watched a video on bee keeping, I suddenly think I know all there is to know about the queen. 😀

2nd hive:

Installing the 3rd hive:

I found the whole queen thing interesting. It seems to be all about the her and her survival at this point.

SANY0061

So that night and most of the next day it snowed. And snowed.

SANY0068-1

In May. For those of you in England, where your tulips are prob’ly already in bloom snow in May seems ridiculous, but to us it’s par for the course.

The kids were worried about the bees so we went out there (they’re in our back field) to check on them…

SANY0073-1

They seemed to be humming away quite happily.

I’ll keep y’all updated on bee events in the days and weeks to come.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

