Goings-On

Yesterday went by SO fast. I started the day off with mowing some of the lawn. I came in, gathered the kids, and went into town to buy them some rubber boots. They need them for when they check the bees. R was just wearing running shoes the other night and a bee got up inside his pants. He was very calm, though, and didn’t get bitten. However, they DO still need boots.  Uh…the kids not the bees.  😉

In bee news…

We lost two out of the three hives. 😦 We think it’s because it was raining when they were installed. Perhaps the bees got wet and then it snowed all of the next day and they never warmed up. At any rate, we have one that seems to be going strong.

IMG 5012

IMG 5015

The kids are loving being involved with the bees. They’re learning so much.

So, after we got the boots I, of course, had to get a bunch of other stuff, too. Those Sharon Lovejoy books are motivating me to try and make our place look prettier. So I picked up a bunch of flowers and potting soil.

We finally returned home and I mowed some more. Then my dad came over for a visit and he came out to watch us plant some potatoes. BUT. He pointed out that the garden needed to be raked and leveled (which was true). So I started in on that…which, incidentally, is a huge job. I have aching arms today to prove it. Half way through raking the garden I had the bright idea of getting the old lawn tractor going so that I could pull a makeshift harrow (not that Dad suggested that BEFORE I started raking, but whateva).

Dealing with the tractor took a long time – filling a flat tire, pushing it out from under the deck, filling it with gas, fiddling with it so that it would go, and it still wouldn’t stay started! Grr. So, dad went home and I abandoned the garden (hoping Adrian would fix the tractor in the evening) and I tackled our Nanking Cherry bushes (it’s been years since they were pruned properly). After awhile, I checked the time and – WHAT?! – it was 5:00! No supper started, so I went in to do that. I put what turned out to be a delicious chicken stew/casserole concoction in the oven, and went out to finish the mowing the lawn.

While I was collapsed for a rest on my lovely hammock, the neighbour stopped by to give me a present. Sunflower seeds…and not just ordinary ones. They’re called “King Kong” and they grow to 12 feet (or more) high! Whoo hoo!!! Wasn’t that nice?  He knows that we’re planting a sunflower house this year.  So, J and I went out to plant them right away.

By then, I was done. My body was achy and I just wanted to relax.

Hammock

Here’s one of my favourite places in the whole wide world. This is the hammock Mary got for Adrian a few years ago.  We LOVE it.  You can’t see it but all of my bird feeders hang here in the trees, too.

IMG 5022

Our yummy supper.

Sunset on leaves

The sunset lit up the leaves beautifully.

Today…

J is ill.  She has a cold so she’ll have to miss art class.

I have the garden to complete, flowers to plant, Nanking Cherries to prune, and general clean-up around the yard (with Adrian around that’s a continual uphill battle).  But it’s all okay.  I’m enjoying being out in the sunshine and it’s shaping up to be a lovely day.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goings-On

  1. wissink6 says:

    Love the new blog look Debbie and your pics. The hammock looks so inviting too.

Leave a Reply

