Not Gardening

It’s raining today.  We need the rain so it’s a good thing.  I AM a little bummed though because I didn’t get my garden in, yet. 

Our neighbour was very kind to rototiller it for us last week.  He went quite deep and, as a result, the process brought up a LOT of roots.  In addition, we added some manure prior to the tilling, but I don’t think it was old enough because it’s all clumpy in there.  You might recall that I wrote about raking it…well, that’s where it stayed.  Half raked.  It’s discouraging because I had such great intentions this week, but it seemed like our yard was working against me!  lol  Every piece of equipment I went to use didn’t work.  Eh hem…well the rake worked, actually; I was just hoping to find an easier way to level the garden. 

Last night I was roaming around outside picking this and that up and filling a bird feeder when I noticed the neighbours in their garden.  I peaked over the fence and chatted briefly with them.  They said they were trying to get their garden finished because it was supposed to rain.  Wise people.  Now it IS raining and I have a half raked garden with nothing planted.  😦  It’s due to rain on and off all weekend so I think the earliest I’ll be able to get in there is Tuesday because, as far as I know, you’re not supposed to work wet dirt.  It ruins the composition or creates compaction…or something.  Right???  Fourteen years of living out here you’d think all sorts about gardening buuuut…nope.

We were supposed to go to a Junior Forest Warden camp this weekend, but Adrian and I decided to cancel.  We have much to do and he’s too tired in the evenings to keep up on stuff.  I have a list of “honey-do” jobs.  🙂  (psst…he’s not a honey-do type of guy, though.)  I need him to fix my tractor and weed eater and do some maintenance to the lawn mower.  I’d love for him to put up my clothes line as well.  I was hoping he’d help me put in the garden but it looks like that’s not gonna happen.

Ah well. All that’s need to be done will be done.

In closing, I took a short video for Mary. I hope you don’t get sick!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Gardening

  1. wissink6 says:

    I love when you have videos Debbie !!!

  2. Pamela says:

    I finally planted mine over a week ago — and it has rained — POURED — and I’m afraid to go look. I’m sure everything washed away. I may have carrots growing in my lawn. heh heh.

Leave a Reply

