Scheduling Mania

Last year, homeschooling wise, was not our best year.  At least not in terms of academics.  We did a lot of travelling.  And then we’d get home from wherever, we would never just get right back into the swing of things.  I would love this year to be different.  Mind you…I say that every year.   But this year…this year, I’d realllly like it to be so.  And, I think, planning is the way that I’ll get it.

A helpful website has been http://donnayoung.org/.  It has lots of forms, lists, and advice to assist the planning challenges homeschooler.  Something she said struck home:

“It is good to wake up in the morning and to know what you are going to do that day in school. That is what planning lessons is all about — being prepared — so that you can be as stress free as possible.”

That’s it in a nutshell!  That’s what I want!!  Stress freedom.  So, now I’m stressing about stress free.  Tee hee.  Nahh.  But I am very preoccupied with printing off forms and organizing my binder.  Now, I’ve just got to fill it all in and AHHH implement it!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Scheduling Mania

  1. Pamela says:

    reminded me of Dr Suess and the Bee watchers.

    I stress over stress.

    • Debbie says:

      Pamela…Dr Suess and the Bee watchers? Never heard of it. I was intrigued since we have honey bees. But I couldn’t find it when Ilooked it up? Could it be under a different name?

  2. Robinella says:

    Debbie,

    I wrote about that a few posts back. The file folder system works like a dream since we don’t use a box curriculum. I piece mine together based on the needs of the boys and where they are grade wise. I love pulling that folder out every morning and checking off my boxes.

    With that however, comes a little boredom for my oldest. He’s not used to writing (for school) so much. I’ll be happy when our co-op and his theater start back up. That’ll help spice up our week along with our nature walks on Fridays. I also think once he gets used to having to work independently for a few subjects, (also something he hasn’t done much of) he’ll just go with it… I hope. :o)

  3. Dawn says:

    Well, shows you how often I check in. A schedule would be a great idea. It is something I never really mastered. I hope this year is your best to date 😉 .

Leave a Reply

