And it goes on and on and onnnnnnn…yeah.

So, I’m happy I started putting down my thoughts on here again. I just thought I’d check in and I decided to re-read my previous post and it motivated me all over again. As I said…I’m forgetful. Or rather I get discouraged easily.

You know what? No. I’m going to blame it on the weather. It’s April 2nd and what do we see outside of our window…STILL???

IMG 5780

Snow. Snow. Grey sky. And then snow again. The melt has begun in the last day or two – thank goodness – but we still have a long way to go. And then we’ll have the added complication of potential flooding from all of this snow. To be positive, though (’cause I know it doesn’t help to be negative always), spring is springing. Our driveway is a huge slushy mess, and my neighbour told me he’ll come and clear it for me. Isn’t that sweet? My neighbours have been a HUGE help to me this winter. Husband, Adrian, is working out of town these days so it’s been such a comfort to have the neighbours’ support.

On to homeschooling. Last weekend Adrian was home. He comes home for four days at a time, and during that time we don’t do any bookwork. They did do some planting, though. Adrian is totally into gardening while I’m just new to the love of this earthy endeavor.

 

IMG 5773

J hamming it up.

IMG 5774

Still looking pretty hammy. 😉

IMG 5776

 

IMG 5779

I had this “Grow a Bean” kit for awhile and decided this was the right time to pull it out. J got the idea to experiment a little and try planting beans in a variety of substances. Grain, paper towel, water, candle holder, and a honeycomb. And, of yeah, dirt of all things.

IMG 5777

She also had a little mishap with the Easy Bake oven. She couldn’t find her pans so she thought she’d try a plastic lid! That’s the remnants on the light bulb.

IMG 5775

Then we worked on a Mediating Learning concept called Self Regulation. Mediated Learning is a course I’ve been taking on how to better communicate. Here’s a better explanation: http://www.wisdomhomeschooling.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=102&Itemid=97

Self Regulation is one of the criteria where you learn to regulate your emotions. We drew a volcano to demonstrate. I got this idea from this mom’s blog who is recording her Mediated Learning journey in a blog: http://5minutemom.blogspot.com/2011/03/volcano-self-regulation.html

We use the volcano to explain how when we lose our tempers it’s not an automatic thing. It may seem like it is, but really there are steps. Sometimes they happen quickly and other times it’s more gradual. If we become aware of our triggers and the levels our anger take, theoretically we should be able to reverse the process.

IMG 5781

I say “theoretically” because immediately after this exercise I totally lost my temper at the kids. 😦 Their fighting is a HUGE trigger for me. Something I have to investigate about myself.

This particular activity was spurred on by that day’s math lesson with my son, R. He (in his words) HATES math. We’re doing Math U See Epsilon which is focused on fractions. He’s doing well in that he understands the concepts. He does not like how long it takes to do the questions. He’s subtracting mixed fractions which involves finding common denominators, subtracting and borrowing, and then reducing at the end. “This is going to take forever” is what he tearfully expressed several times. Frustrating!!

As much as I homeschool so that we don’t have to conform I just know he wouldn’t pull this bulls**t in a school. Grrrr.

Huh.

On the other hand that means he wouldn’t feel safe enough to express himself there. You know. Huh. I just realized that THIS second. I’ve been thinking all along that he pulls that stuff (crying, carrying on) because he’s trying to get away with something and feels he can with me, when it’s really about him feeling safe enough to be himself. Of COURSE he wouldn’t do that at school. He’d just go about silently hating math. But I have the opportunity to find out what the blockage is and maybe even break it down. Huh. That helped. I mean really.

Amazing how a switch in thinking can totally change how I feel about something!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And it goes on and on and onnnnnnn…yeah.

  1. Robinella says:

    I’ll have to employ some of these tactics. The fighting and whining are triggers for me.

  2. Dawn says:

    Great experiments and learning experiences. I had to laugh when you said you lost your temper after the volcano thing. Like Robinella and probably most moms, I too find fighting and whining to be triggers. Luckily my kids have pretty much grown out of it (or learned good communication strategies because many people don’t grow out of it).

    I for one am glad the snow is melting and it is warmer out.

  3. Pamela says:

    I resemble the volcano. indeed.

    Hey.. you have all that snow melted yet?

  4. Steffi says:

    I agree with Dawn…you make really good experiments and learning experiences.
    And I hope you see finally more colours as white snow!Our winter here was long at this year too but I am glad that the snow is melt and now are pleasant temperatures and the flowers and trees bloom.

  5. I hope the sunshine and longer days has meant more outdoor activities, along with dare I say, blogging on the lawn.

    Enjoy the spring sunshine and the joys of warmer days.

  6. great post, I have just started blogging again and I agree it is great to get thoughts down. Also, thanks for the links for the self-regulation they’ll be really useful for our daughter (and us!)

  7. Pingback: How to Train Your Dog to “Heel” | dog training online courses, dog cat and pet training

  8. Pingback: Anonymous

Leave a comment